GetPlotColor Bug

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Gann_Man
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

GetPlotColor Bug

Postby Gann_Man » 20 Jan 2009

"GetPlotColor" ALWAYS returns the DEFAULT color of the Indicator.
If the color of a plot is changed in a chart from the default color,
"GetPlotColor" still returns the default color.

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 26 Jan 2009

Hi Gann_Mann,

GetPlotColor returns either the Default colour or a colour determined by the function SetPlotColor.

When you are saying: "If the color of a plot is changed in a chart from the default color, "GetPlotColor" still returns the default color." are you talking about changing the color with SetPlotColor?

Thank you.

Gann_Man
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby Gann_Man » 29 Jan 2009

Hi Gann_Mann,

GetPlotColor returns either the Default colour or a colour determined by the function SetPlotColor.

When you are saying: "If the color of a plot is changed in a chart from the default color, "GetPlotColor" still returns the default color." are you talking about changing the color with SetPlotColor?

Thank you.


Hi Marinaa,

No, I'm not talking about changing the color with SetPlotColor (within the code).
I want to change the color (outside code) on individual charts using 'Format Study'.

I'm drawing trendlines (within code) and want those trendlines to be the same colors
as Plot1, Plot2, Plot3, etc. These plot colors are different for each chart.

TL_SetColor(1, GetPlotColor(1));
TL_SetColor(2, GetPlotColor(2));
TL_SetColor(3, GetPlotColor(3));

I would think 'GetPlotColor' should return the color of plots on a per chart basis.

Thank you.

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 30 Jan 2009

Hi Gann_Mann,

It doesn't return this value on a per chart value.

This is an excerpt from our help: "GetPlotColor returns either the Default colour or a colour determined by the function SetPlotColor. "

This is how this reserved word is supposed to work.

Gann_Man
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby Gann_Man » 07 Feb 2009

Hi Gann_Mann,

It doesn't return this value on a per chart value.

This is an excerpt from our help: "GetPlotColor returns either the Default colour or a colour determined by the function SetPlotColor. "

This is how this reserved word is supposed to work.


Marina,

FYI, this breaks compatibility with TS EasyLanguage.
GetPlotColor in EasyLanguage returns the color of plots on a per chart basis.

Thank you.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6598
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 971 times
Been thanked: 1909 times

Postby TJ » 08 Feb 2009

I don't understand what you mean by "Per Chart basis".

Gann_Man
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby Gann_Man » 08 Feb 2009

I don't understand what you mean by "Per Chart basis".

This is what I mean by "Per Chart basis":
Chart Window #1 - plot1 color = red
Chart Window #2 - plot1 color = green
Chart Window #3 - plot1 color = blue


The "Default Color" for the plots of an indicator are SET in the PowerLanguage Editor under:
File--->Properties... (General Tab).

Only 1 "Default Color" is allowed for each plot of an indicator.

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 13 Feb 2009

Hi Gann_Mann,

In the gold release, the behavior of GetPlotColour in MC will be made the same as the behavior of this function in TS.

Regards.

Gann_Man
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby Gann_Man » 20 Feb 2009

Hi Gann_Mann,

In the gold release, the behavior of GetPlotColour in MC will be made the same as the behavior of this function in TS.

Regards.


Thank you....Marina

Gann_Man
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby Gann_Man » 12 Sep 2009

Hi Gann_Mann,

In the gold release, the behavior of GetPlotColour in MC will be made the same as the behavior of this function in TS.

Regards.


The behavior of GetPlotColor has not changed and remains incompatible with TS code.

GetPlotColor needs to return (get) the plot colors for each individual chart window, not the default plot colors as set in PowerLanguage file properties.

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 15 Sep 2009

Dear Gann_Man,

Unfortunately we had to postpone this improvement. I'm sorry for that.

We set high priority for this issue and it will be fixed in one of the nearest releases.

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 16 Sep 2009

Dear Gann_Man,

The bug is fixed. Wait for version 6.0 please.


Return to “MultiCharts”