Problem with commisions and slippage

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
wegi
Posts: 112
Joined: 02 Jun 2009
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Problem with commisions and slippage

Postby wegi » 23 Jun 2009

Hi,


if i enter commisions and slippage at the property page for my signals,
the trades are changing, because targets are different. multicharts includes the slippage to the target and stoploss, if i code sell next bar at xxx limit.

Is there a way to avoid this ?
I want, that the commision or slippage reduce only the netprofit of the trade and not the original target and sl prices.

thx

wegi

gregorio123456
Posts: 117
Joined: 08 Nov 2005
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Problem with commisions and slippage

Postby gregorio123456 » 24 Jun 2009

Hi,


if i enter commisions and slippage at the property page for my signals,
the trades are changing, because targets are different. multicharts includes the slippage to the target and stoploss, if i code sell next bar at xxx limit.

Is there a way to avoid this ?
I want, that the commision or slippage reduce only the netprofit of the trade and not the original target and sl prices.

thx

wegi


no

only if you made your code (stoploss+ or - commission and slippage and traget + or - commission and slippage)

jo

wegi
Posts: 112
Joined: 02 Jun 2009
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Postby wegi » 24 Jun 2009

thank you for your answare,
but how can i do this ?

i use:
setstoploss(slSize);
setprofittarget(ptSize);

how can i access entered slippage and commisions ?,
because i gues i have to modify the values slSize and ptSize.
or do i have to create an input value ??

in real life, commisions does not effekt a target order :-(
and in my other software, i have an input where i can coose both methods.

gregorio123456
Posts: 117
Joined: 08 Nov 2005
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby gregorio123456 » 24 Jun 2009

thank you for your answare,
but how can i do this ?

i use:
setstoploss(slSize);
setprofittarget(ptSize);

how can i access entered slippage and commisions ?,
because i gues i have to modify the values slSize and ptSize.
or do i have to create an input value ??

in real life, commisions does not effekt a target order :-(
and in my other software, i have an input where i can coose both methods.



1º setstoploss(slSize); setprofittarget(ptSize) this don´t work w size or points ....this work w $$$$$ :-) ===»in quoteManager you put value of big points value ==»» ES 50$ for big points in future.... msft 1$ for big point in stock

and if you put setprofittarget($$$profit + or -your commision) and the same w setstoploss you get what you want

and use last Version of Multicharts

or use limit order....sell next bar avgentryprice+commision+yourprofit limit;

maybe help

I like put my cost in trader in backtest if my traget is 500$ I get 496 clean because I put my cost(commision ) in trader



jo

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6599
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 971 times
Been thanked: 1909 times

Postby TJ » 24 Jun 2009

may i suggest:

Building Winning Trading Systems with TS

http://www.amazon.com/Building-Winning- ... 713&sr=8-3

wegi
Posts: 112
Joined: 02 Jun 2009
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Postby wegi » 25 Jun 2009

Hi,

1) Thank you for your answeres.

2) I use the latest MC version. At the moment i am converting my strategy from tradesignal std. edition (TS5) to multichart 5.
I am an experienced developer and i have some fully automated strategys running, only forex at the moment. So i dont use bigpoint value, i always want to see pips/points.

i am in the situation that i know what is possible in TS5 and i try to find out how to do this with multicharts.

as i see for this problem, i have to do some extra coding, because mc does not support this in a right way.

The backtestreport of ts5 shows the netprofit of a trade before and after commisions and slippage.
And if i code 10 points Stoploss, i can decide if the stop and limit orders should be affected or not by entered slippage and commisions. There is an simple input at a property page.
Beside, this can effekt the whole strategy.
If i have a limitorder at 1,9980 wich becomes to 1,9990 with 10 pips slippage/spread.
This order will maybe not reached.

But you always have to know what you are doing and how to read the backtestreport ;-)

wegi
Posts: 112
Joined: 02 Jun 2009
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Postby wegi » 25 Jun 2009

[quote
and if you put setprofittarget($$$profit + or -your commision) and the same w setstoploss you get what you want
[/quote]

is there a way the get the entered commisions from the property page ?


Return to “MultiCharts”