stepped macd

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
zoecat
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Jun 2009

stepped macd

Postby zoecat » 01 Jul 2009

hello

i am looking for some help programing a stepped macd.
i would like it to be the same basic set up that is in mc now, with this exception. i do not want the two macd values plotted as smoth ma lines, i want the values stepped. i would like the prior bars closing value to be a horizontal line with a vertical line connecting it to the next bars closing value for both of the macd values. the plot would look like two sets of stairs rising or falling with the macd values. any help will be appreciated.

thanks

zoecat

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7379
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 996 times
Been thanked: 2108 times

Postby TJ » 01 Jul 2009

do you want BOTH macd lines stepped?

that would look confusing.

zoecat
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Jun 2009

Postby zoecat » 01 Jul 2009

yes both lines stepped,thanks

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7379
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 996 times
Been thanked: 2108 times

Postby TJ » 01 Jul 2009

the easiest way to convert the line to steps is to change the plot type

1. right click on the indicator to bring up the Format Study window

2. change the Plot Type to Right Tick or Left Tick.

you can double the width of the step by duplicating the plots,
then you can have both Right Tick AND Left Tick to make one steps.


adding a vertical line to join the step is "possible", but requires a totally different approach... and a lot of work. (using TL_New_Self)

zoecat
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Jun 2009

Postby zoecat » 01 Jul 2009

thanks tj, your solution is what i have been using up till now.

janus
Posts: 778
Joined: 25 May 2009
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Postby janus » 02 Jul 2009

adding a vertical line to join the step is "possible", but requires a totally different approach... and a lot of work. (using TL_New_Self)
Yes, that's the problem I've been having drawing vertical lines for my own studies - I had to resort to using trend lines, which is a not ideal as I end up with too many and things slow down and/or I run out of memory. So now I use plotn and delay the end point of a vertical line by one bar. It's not vertical but at least I don't have the slowness/memory issues. I wish MC did something to enhance plotn but I'm not holding my breath.


Return to “MultiCharts”