issues / Bugs 5.5 beta3

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
ts2mc
Posts: 122
Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Been thanked: 1 time

issues / Bugs 5.5 beta3

Postby ts2mc » 31 Jul 2009

- bug: settings for collecting realtime data lost very often.
what exactly leads to this, unknown.
(there is no setting to switch on for all symbols in all groups)
- portfolio backtest settings asks for saving even if nothing has changed.
- bug: portfolio backtest can't be run as option is disabled.
- bug: portfolio can't be saved as portfolio backtester reports something
like: "can't save pf as another process has locked..."
- bug: quotemanager reports "not supported" in column collect R/T

please look at screenshots
Attachments
bugs1.rar
(272.97 KiB) Downloaded 30 times

ts2mc
Posts: 122
Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby ts2mc » 31 Jul 2009

- bug: quotemanager reports "not supported" in column collect R/T
this can be solved, if you go to MC and switch to data server online.

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 04 Aug 2009

Please stop to call bugs any things that look unclear for you. Let me comment your questions.
- bug: settings for collecting realtime data lost very often.
what exactly leads to this, unknown.

How does it look? You haven’t illustrated.
- portfolio backtest settings asks for saving even if nothing has changed.

Program doesn’t check if you changed it and ask anyway. It is not a bug, but simplified implementation.
- bug: portfolio backtest can't be run as option is disabled.

It is not a bug. You must add at least 1 signal to run it.
- bug: portfolio can't be saved as portfolio backtester reports something
like: "can't save pf as another process has locked..."

Do you have Excel installed?
- bug: quotemanager reports "not supported" in column collect R/T

It is not a bug. You must work online. Go to MultiCharts-File-Preferences->Online.

ts2mc
Posts: 122
Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby ts2mc » 04 Aug 2009

Please stop to call bugs any things that look unclear for you. Let me comment your questions.

I will try to be more careful here. on the other hand, i see some of
my issues going to be lost in space. this is the reason i got a bit louder.

- bug: settings for collecting realtime data lost very often.
what exactly leads to this, unknown.

How does it look? You haven’t illustrated.
- very simple: on start qm, you find collect R/T again switched off.

- portfolio backtest settings asks for saving even if nothing has changed.

Program doesn’t check if you changed it and ask anyway. It is not a bug, but simplified implementation.
- bug: portfolio backtest can't be run as option is disabled.

It is not a bug. You must add at least 1 signal to run it.
there was of course a signal attached. i solved it by restart of system.
killing all MC related processes didn't help.



- bug: portfolio can't be saved as portfolio backtester reports something
like: "can't save pf as another process has locked..."

Do you have Excel installed?
yes

- bug: quotemanager reports "not supported" in column collect R/T

It is not a bug. You must work online. Go to MultiCharts-File-Preferences->Online.[/quote]

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6518
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 957 times
Been thanked: 1883 times

Postby TJ » 04 Aug 2009

...
I will try to be more careful here. on the other hand, i see some of
my issues going to be lost in space. this is the reason i got a bit louder.




ever heard of the story "Fire"?

drewb4
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Feb 2009

Postby drewb4 » 14 Aug 2009

I can report a similar issue with Beta 3 with real-time data. I am merging historical data from Esignal with real-time data from IB on a single chart. If I make any changes to chart time (i.e. 1 day chart to 5 min chart, etc) or sometimes other chart settings, I will lose real-time collection from IB and the chart settings revert back to Esignal for both. Sometimes it seems to happen simply on exit and re-start.

This happens in multiple symbols in multiple workspaces.

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 20 Aug 2009

I can report a similar issue with Beta 3 with real-time data. I am merging historical data from Esignal with real-time data from IB on a single chart. If I make any changes to chart time (i.e. 1 day chart to 5 min chart, etc) or sometimes other chart settings, I will lose real-time collection from IB and the chart settings revert back to Esignal for both. Sometimes it seems to happen simply on exit and re-start.

This happens in multiple symbols in multiple workspaces.


The bug has been confirmed. Thank you.


Return to “MultiCharts”