Quote Manager

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
LTG
Posts: 30
Joined: 08 Sep 2009

Quote Manager

Postby LTG » 10 Sep 2009

Anyone have the correct settings for the USD.JPY, i'm using:

Price Scale: 1/100000
Daily Limit: 1
Min Movement: 1
Big Point Value: 1

I can't seem to get the correct setting for this pair or gbp/jpy or eur/jpy when running the back test. Basically looking to take a standard lot of 100k.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 10 Sep 2009

LTG,

Price Scale: 1/100 or 1/1000 if your broker allows fractional points
Daily Limit: you may leave 1 - this number is currently is not used
Min Movement: 0.01 or 0.001 respectively
Big Point Value: approx. $9

LTG
Posts: 30
Joined: 08 Sep 2009

Postby LTG » 10 Sep 2009

Andrew,

I'm using Interactive Brokers

I tried using 1/100 or 1/1000, but i'm still experiencing the same problem.

Also, the min. movement won't accept anything less that 1.

Message " Min Movement - you must enter Min. Movement value between 1 & 1000000.

gadol
Posts: 19
Joined: 29 Apr 2008

Postby gadol » 10 Sep 2009

USD/JPY , IB settings:
price scale ; 1/1000
day limit : 1
min move :5
big point value: 9

LTG
Posts: 30
Joined: 08 Sep 2009

Postby LTG » 10 Sep 2009

Thanks for the update but that still doesn't affect the end result of the strategy back test. Currently it only works with quantity of 100.

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 11 Sep 2009

Dear LTG,

Could you provide more details on your issue? What exactly do you think is wrong with your backtesting results?

LTG
Posts: 30
Joined: 08 Sep 2009

Postby LTG » 11 Sep 2009

With EUR.USD, GBP.USD i'm using 100k lots for my strategy, that works fine.

When I try the same for USD.JPY, the 100k spits out numbers off the chart so i'm forced to use 100 as the quantity, not 100k. The ultimate problem is submitting automated order to IB with quantity of 100, rather than 100k

I'm guessing it has something to do with the conversion because the same usd.jpy issue happens with the cross currency pairs.

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 14 Sep 2009

Dear LTG,

This is because MultiCharts calculate everything in US dollars only.

In case of USD/JPY and similar ones your quote currency is JPY not USD.

So in your case you should think all the calculations as they were in JPY.

Hence to buy 100K USD you need something about 9-10M JPY.

So you need to set at least 10M as your initial capital in MultiCharts (if you have Big Point Value = 1); and at least 90M if you set Big Point Value = 9.

PS. Probably we'll improve MultiCharts so it can perform multi-currency calculations.

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby 2haerim » 14 Sep 2009

PS. Probably we'll improve MultiCharts so it can perform multi-currency calculations.
I really vote for this multi-currency calculations. USD is just one of so many currencies in the world even though it is the most used one.

I know TS supports multi-currency calculations. Why not MC?


thx

LTG
Posts: 30
Joined: 08 Sep 2009

Postby LTG » 20 Sep 2009

Andrew,

your solution doesn't solve my problem. I want to fully automate my orders to interactive broker with the correct quantity.

Right now the quantity is correct for all the other pairs except for the jpy. I want to route 100,000k or 1 standard lot of usd.jpy.

Right now to get the strategy to work I have to use quantity of 100, which isn't a 100,000k.

All the quote manager settings are correct but this portion of it isn't.

Can someone look into this and tell me what the issue and how to appropriately resolve it.

Thx

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 21 Sep 2009

Please come to our HelpDesk tomorrow.

Fxdrive
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Feb 2011

Re: Quote Manager

Postby Fxdrive » 07 Feb 2011

I appear to be getting the same problem. What was the solution?

Many thanks.

tornadoatc
Posts: 8
Joined: 05 Feb 2011

Re: Quote Manager

Postby tornadoatc » 07 Feb 2011

Could this be related to the fact that MC still does not support Currency Conversion Factors (i.e. Look at LossCF and ProfitCF reserved words in TS) I believe you need this to calculate Point Values in Cross Currencies.

ATC


Return to “MultiCharts”