different data view depending if indicator or signal??

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
faschim
Posts: 36
Joined: 14 Jul 2009
Has thanked: 2 times

different data view depending if indicator or signal??

Postby faschim » 24 Sep 2009

If I create indicator and signal scripts with the only line in each being the following:

Print(" Date ", Date:7:0, " Time ", Time:4:0, Open:11:6, High:11:6, Low:11:6, Close:11:6);

then when I inspect the print output I see that the first 50 bars for the output from the signal script is missing. What's going on?

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6518
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 957 times
Been thanked: 1883 times

Postby TJ » 24 Sep 2009

All studies reference a certain number of bars for their calculations. The number of bars is called Maximum Bars Back.

e.g. a 20 period moving average will require at least 20 bars back.


To set the maxbarsback,

for indicators:

go to Format> Study

choose Properties tab

select

Auto-detect or User Specified


for signals:

go to Strategy Properties

choose Properties tab

under Costs/Capitalization

last line:

Maximum number of bars study will reference

faschim
Posts: 36
Joined: 14 Jul 2009
Has thanked: 2 times

Postby faschim » 25 Sep 2009

Ah. That explains a few things. Many thanks.


Return to “MultiCharts”