Next Bar vs Same Bar order entry

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
dannyz
Posts: 28
Joined: 26 Oct 2009

Next Bar vs Same Bar order entry

Postby dannyz » 26 Oct 2009

In power language most signals are defaulted to using , " next bar," as an entrypoint is there a way to use same bar instead? if so how would you word it

thanks

DannyZ

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7372
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 996 times
Been thanked: 2105 times

Postby TJ » 26 Oct 2009

look up intrabarordergeneration

also known as IOG

gregorio123456
Posts: 117
Joined: 08 Nov 2005
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: quick power language question?

Postby gregorio123456 » 26 Oct 2009

In power language most signals are defaulted to using , " next bar," as an entry point is there a way to use same bar instead? if so how would you word it

thanks
Danny Z
or use....... buy this bar on close....

jo

dannyz
Posts: 28
Joined: 26 Oct 2009

Postby dannyz » 26 Oct 2009

is there a way i could generate the order at the open of the bar or just the close of the bar


thanks
Danny Z

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7372
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 996 times
Been thanked: 2105 times

Postby TJ » 26 Oct 2009

next bar at market = opening

dannyz
Posts: 28
Joined: 26 Oct 2009

Postby dannyz » 26 Oct 2009

sorry i meant at opening of this bar market? or can i only only buy next bar market?


thanks
dannyz

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7372
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 996 times
Been thanked: 2105 times

Postby TJ » 26 Oct 2009

sorry i meant at opening of this bar market? or can i only only buy next bar market?


thanks
dannyz

can you give an example of the trigger logic in plain English or pseudo code?

dannyz
Posts: 28
Joined: 26 Oct 2009

Postby dannyz » 26 Oct 2009

Sorry new at alot this.

ex. ``buy , ( parLe ) next bar market; `` is what i have currently

i would like something like , `` buy ( parLe) this bar market;

so i can generate the order before the next bar

thanks

Danny z

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7372
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 996 times
Been thanked: 2105 times

Postby TJ » 26 Oct 2009

What I want to know is... where is the LOGIC that trigger this order?

can you give an example ?

dannyz
Posts: 28
Joined: 26 Oct 2009

Postby dannyz » 26 Oct 2009

sorry what do you mean by the LOGIC

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7372
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 996 times
Been thanked: 2105 times

Postby TJ » 26 Oct 2009

logic = if condition1 then...

dannyz
Posts: 28
Joined: 26 Oct 2009

Postby dannyz » 26 Oct 2009

Its bases on a parabolic sar signal(strategy)

so if var2 = 1

then buy....

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7372
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 996 times
Been thanked: 2105 times

Postby TJ » 26 Oct 2009

Its bases on a parabolic sar signal(strategy)

so if var2 = 1

then buy....

by the time you figured out the value of var2... the opening tick is GONE.

you are at tick #2 now...

what would you like to do?

dannyz
Posts: 28
Joined: 26 Oct 2009

Postby dannyz » 26 Oct 2009

so what youre saying is that i only have the option the generate a market order at tick two or next bar because by the time multicharts or TS has processed what var 2 is or whatever its to late to generate a market order on the first tick, this bar or same bar however you properly say it

dannyz
Posts: 28
Joined: 26 Oct 2009

Postby dannyz » 26 Oct 2009

sorry once again for my lack of good termanolgy for programing and thank you for the quick responces you have been very helpful


thanks
dannyz

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7372
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 996 times
Been thanked: 2105 times

Postby TJ » 26 Oct 2009

so what youre saying is that i only have the option the generate a market order at tick two or next bar because by the time multicharts or TS has processed what var 2 is or whatever its to late to generate a market order on the first bar, this bar or same bar however you properly say it

I think you are getting the point:
It is physically and logically impossible to generate an order to
buy at the open of the current bar


if you want to generate an order intra-bar (i.e. in the same bar),
see post #2.

if you want to generate an order for the opening,
see post #5.



.
Last edited by TJ on 26 Oct 2009, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7372
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 996 times
Been thanked: 2105 times

Postby TJ » 26 Oct 2009

may I suggest these as starters:



Ask Mr. Easylanguage
http://www.amazon.com/Ask-Mr-Easylangua ... =8-1-spell

Image


Building Winning Trading Systems with TS
http://www.amazon.com/Building-Winning- ... gy_b_img_b

Image

dannyz
Posts: 28
Joined: 26 Oct 2009

Postby dannyz » 27 Oct 2009

Thank you very much TJ for all your help and assistance
Ill have to check out those books aswell.

Danny Z


Return to “MultiCharts”