Ramdisk and temporary files for Multicharts, Qutoemanager et

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Kev
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Location: England

Ramdisk and temporary files for Multicharts, Qutoemanager et

Postby Kev » 08 Jan 2010

I have a large ramdisk and have already edited the registry to move
FBPORTFOLIO.GDB , TSSTORAGE.GDB and TSCACHE.GDB to it.

Are there any other database files , temporary files or other files that MultiCharts or Quotemanager write to that I can move to the ramdisk to increase performance?

Thanks

Kev.

User avatar
RobotMan
Posts: 375
Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Location: Los Altos, California, USA
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Postby RobotMan » 08 Jan 2010

Just as an aside. TSS redesigned the program so that if the computer hangs and requires a re-boot, all your data is saved and you can restart in short order without having to download a whole bunch of data. Having it located on a ramdisk will, of course, eliminate that safeguard.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7373
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 996 times
Been thanked: 2106 times

Postby TJ » 08 Jan 2010

I really do not see the need, nor the benefit of having a RAM disk.

bowlesj3
Posts: 2134
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 209 times
Been thanked: 422 times

Postby bowlesj3 » 08 Jan 2010

you can restart in short order without having to download a whole bunch of data.
yes. 30 seconds back up and running or maybe less (but this MC 6.0 never bombs it seems).

I think they have everything in memory already if I am not wrong which explains TJ's comment I guess.

User avatar
piranhaxp
Posts: 241
Joined: 18 Oct 2005
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Postby piranhaxp » 10 Jan 2010

From my experience having the databases in a RamDisk has an advantage in busy markets only. With the RamDisk from ramdisk.tk everything will or can be stored in fixed periods or if the station is in reboot process.

Prices-Updates are being processed much faster than with databases placed on the harddisk in very busy trading times.

For me it makes sense for large data volumes.

kind regards.

Mike

Kev
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Location: England

Postby Kev » 10 Jan 2010

Where is the temporary cache located?

Please advise.

thanks

Kev.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7373
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 996 times
Been thanked: 2106 times

Postby TJ » 10 Jan 2010

From my experience having the databases in a RamDisk has an advantage in busy markets only. With the RamDisk from ramdisk.tk everything will or can be stored in fixed periods or if the station is in reboot process.

Prices-Updates are being processed much faster than with databases placed on the harddisk in very busy trading times.

For me it makes sense for large data volumes.

kind regards.

Mike

That is true for SQL/db type of database.


Return to “MultiCharts”