discrepancy values from same study

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
User avatar
arnie
Posts: 1589
Joined: 11 Feb 2009
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 478 times
Been thanked: 509 times

discrepancy values from same study

Postby arnie » 17 Apr 2010

Hello.

Something strange is happening and I can't understand where the problem is.

The same indicator, applied on the same symbol, one on a chart, the other on the scanner, and the end result is a different open price :?

Another thing that I've noticed is the open price that the scanner have plot a complete different price

Below is the study and the images.

Regards,
Fernando

Code: Select all

variables:
   stDate         (false),
   sessHi         (0),
   sessLo         (0),
   sessOp         (0),
   dayOpen      (false);
   
if Date <> Date[1] then begin
   stDate = true;
   sessHi = -999999;
   sessLo = +999999;
   dayOpen = false;
end;

if stDate then begin
   if High > SessHi then
      SessHi = High;
   if Low < SessLo then
      SessLo = Low;
   
   if dayOpen = false then begin
      dayOpen = true;
      sessOp = Open;
   end;
end;

if SessHi<> 0 then
   plot1(SessHi,"Session High");
if SessLo<> 0 then
   plot2(SessLo,"Session Low");
if sessOp <> 0 then
   plot3(sessOp,"Session Open");   
Attachments
goog_02.PNG
goog_02.PNG (16.18 KiB) Viewed 250 times
goog_01.png
goog_01.png (40.88 KiB) Viewed 246 times

User avatar
Henrik
Posts: 140
Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Postby Henrik » 17 Apr 2010

Because of different Timeframes?
Charts calculate on M1...and Market Analyzer on Ticks (I think).

User avatar
Bruce DeVault
Posts: 438
Joined: 19 Jan 2010
Location: Washington DC
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Postby Bruce DeVault » 17 Apr 2010

The daily bar open is not necessarily the same as the open of the first one minute bar in the regular session - this information comes from the data feed.

User avatar
arnie
Posts: 1589
Joined: 11 Feb 2009
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 478 times
Been thanked: 509 times

Postby arnie » 17 Apr 2010

Is it me or this discrepancy makes the scanner almost a useless tool! :shock:

Having the scanner reporting different prices than the charts is something very scary.

Lets say that I want to compute the net % change between the open and the last price instead of the usual net % change between yesterdays' close and today's last price.

Knowing that plotting this study on a chart I receive X price, and plotting on a scanner I receive Y price is something unthinkable.

If the first price made on a chart is 45.23 that should be also the price the scanner should read and not other price reported by the same feed that is feeding the charts.

This makes no sense what so ever.
The scanner should use the data from the charts and not other data the data feed might have.

regards,
Fernando

User avatar
Henrik
Posts: 140
Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Postby Henrik » 18 Apr 2010

Its a correct and expected behavior....
Use the same Timeframe for Chart and Analyzer!!!
Change Timeframe in MarketAnalyzer from 1 Day to 1 Minute (like Timeframe of the Chart) :wink:

User avatar
arnie
Posts: 1589
Joined: 11 Feb 2009
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 478 times
Been thanked: 509 times

Postby arnie » 18 Apr 2010

Its a correct and expected behavior....
Use the same Timeframe for Chart and Analyzer!!!
Change Timeframe in MarketAnalyzer from 1 Day to 1 Minute (like Timeframe of the Chart) :wink:


I wish it would be that easy.
On the scanner, I don't know why, but this study don't work with minute time frames :?

But, at least in theory, choosing a minute time frame on the scanner, shouldn't the studies plot the results based on those minute bars chosen?


Return to “MultiCharts”