Chart without Split-Gaps

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
User avatar
LRP
Posts: 107
Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Location: Switzerland
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Chart without Split-Gaps

Postby LRP » 02 May 2010

Hi All
I do like to know if there is a solution to get a Chart without Gaps (split caused) by the FreeQuotes providers supported by MultiCharts/QuoteManager.
Please see the picture as an example
Thank you, LRP
Attachments
Pic.PNG
Pic.PNG (68.04 KiB) Viewed 257 times

User avatar
geizer
Posts: 375
Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Adjust data for splits (Free Quotes)

Postby geizer » 02 May 2010

Found a quick solution using google. Apparently Splits also affect the daily volume traded, which also need to be adjusted using the split ratio. The link shows how to adjust yahoo data:
http://luminouslogic.com/how-to-normalize-historical-data-for-splits-dividends-etc.htm

Google finance and Msn moneycentral not explained, but probably not the rocket science either.

MLDownloader, for example, can adjust data for splits: http://www.trading-tools.com/mld.htm

--
Pavel

User avatar
LRP
Posts: 107
Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Location: Switzerland
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Adjust data for splits (Free Quotes)

Postby LRP » 04 May 2010

Thank you geizer for your advice and maybe workaround.

I am looking for an easy/fast solution provided by tssupport. Would be great to have "clean" (split adjusted) charts like yahoo/google/msn is shown with their chartsoftware.

What is tssupport thinking about this suggestion?

THX again, LRP

Found a quick solution using google. Apparently Splits also affect the daily volume traded, which also need to be adjusted using the split ratio. The link shows how to adjust yahoo data:
http://luminouslogic.com/how-to-normalize-historical-data-for-splits-dividends-etc.htm

Google finance and Msn moneycentral not explained, but probably not the rocket science either.

MLDownloader, for example, can adjust data for splits: http://www.trading-tools.com/mld.htm

--
Pavel

User avatar
LRP
Posts: 107
Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Location: Switzerland
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Adjust data for splits (Free Quotes)

Postby LRP » 04 May 2010

Thank you geizer for your advice and maybe workaround.

I am looking for an easy/fast solution provided by tssupport. Would be great to have "clean" (split adjusted) charts like yahoo/google/msn is shown with their chartsoftware.

What is tssupport thinking about this suggestion?

THX again, LRP

Found a quick solution using google. Apparently Splits also affect the daily volume traded, which also need to be adjusted using the split ratio. The link shows how to adjust yahoo data:
http://luminouslogic.com/how-to-normalize-historical-data-for-splits-dividends-etc.htm

Google finance and Msn moneycentral not explained, but probably not the rocket science either.

MLDownloader, for example, can adjust data for splits: http://www.trading-tools.com/mld.htm

--
Pavel

User avatar
geizer
Posts: 375
Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Postby geizer » 04 May 2010

    TS Support responded to my inquiry about split-adjusted yahoo data
    on May 4th, 2010:

    We don't have a split feature yet. We will do it later.
    TS Support

    --


      Return to “MultiCharts”