suggestion -- Text_SetLocation

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
drudominique
Posts: 70
Joined: 17 Mar 2010

suggestion -- Text_SetLocation

Postby drudominique » 14 May 2010

hello

MC suggested we could make a function that allows us to display a text on the right of the bar being + or - X (cm, pixel, bar etc. ..)
Ideally would like a command but with the parameters of this one :-)

Text_SetLocation (ObjectID, BarDate, BarTime, PriceValue)

Text_SetLocation (ObjectID, BarDate, BarTime, HORIZONTAL,VERTICAL ,PriceValue)


thank you

french

bonjour

suggestion MC pourrais nous mettre une fonction qui nous permette d'afficher un texte a droite de la barre en cours + ou - X (cm,pixel,barre etc..)
merci

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7743
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Re: suggested

Postby TJ » 14 May 2010

hello

MC suggested we could make a function that allows us to display a text on the right of the bar being + or - X (cm, pixel, bar etc. ..)
Ideally would like a command but with the parameters of this one :-)

Text_SetLocation (ObjectID, BarDate, BarTime, PriceValue)

Text_SetLocation (ObjectID, BarDate, BarTime, HORIZONTAL,VERTICAL ,PriceValue)


thank you

french

bonjour

suggestion MC pourrais nous mettre une fonction qui nous permette d'afficher un texte a droite de la barre en cours + ou - X (cm,pixel,barre etc..)
merci
1. you can decide the horizontal placement by the BarTime.

the BarTime can be:
TIME = current bar
TIME[1] = previous bar
TIME + barinterval = next bar
etc.,

you can further refine the text location by
TEXT_SETSTYLE


2. MultiCharts' PowerLanguage must retain compatibility with TS' EasyLanguage,
modifying a keyword will cause many unhappy users. ;-)>

User avatar
RobotMan
Posts: 375
Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Location: Los Altos, California, USA
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Postby RobotMan » 14 May 2010

Hi drudominique,

Here is some sample code to see how this works. Note: MC already has a tick countdown timer now. There is a trick where I use "time_s + 1" to locate the text. Others might have better ways to do this, but I am not a programmer.

cheers.

Code: Select all

// Bob Perry 9/07, 11/08
// This only works on:
// "Tick" charts where "Build Volume On:" is set to "Tick Count"
// "Contract" or "Volume Bars" where "Build Volume On:" is set to "Volume"

inputs: marker ( "<"), space ( " " );
var: Count(0), text_string ( "" ), { string }
ref(0); { ref # of text object }

{ initialize text object }
if currentbar = 1 then
ref = text_new_s(date,time_s,close, " " );

value1 = Ticks;
Count = value1[1] - value1[0];

if lastbaronchart then begin
{ string for text object }
text_string = space + marker + space + numtostr(Count,0);
{ move text to lastbaronchart }
text_setlocation_s(ref,date,time_s+1,close);
text_setstring(ref,text_string);
text_setstyle( ref, 0, 2 );
text_setcolor(ref, tool_yellow );
end;

drudominique
Posts: 70
Joined: 17 Mar 2010

Postby drudominique » 14 May 2010

hello

ok but you fix the problem for the horizontal but the vertical? take an example, suppose I want my text is on three bar on the right of the last bar and being above the highest bar in court +0.25 pts how?
cordialy


french

bonjour

ok mais la vous régler le problème pour l'horizontal mais pour le vertical ? prenons un exemple supposons que je veux que mon texte se trouve sur 3 barre sur la droite de la dernière barre en cours et au dessus du plus haut de la barre en cour +0.25 pts comment faire ?
cordialement

drudominique
Posts: 70
Joined: 17 Mar 2010

Postby drudominique » 14 May 2010

I just tried and it works.
but if I use, text_setsize, text_setborder, Text_setbgcolor it does not work why? and how?


french

je viens d'essayer et ça marche .
mais si j'utilise , text_setsize,text_setborder,Text_setbgcolor cela ne fonctionne pas le décalage n'est pas pris en compte pourquoi ? et comment faire ?

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7743
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Postby TJ » 14 May 2010

I just tried and it works.
but if I use, text_setsize, text_setborder, Text_setbgcolor it does not work why? and how?


french

je viens d'essayer et ça marche .
mais si j'utilise , text_setsize,text_setborder,Text_setbgcolor cela ne fonctionne pas le décalage n'est pas pris en compte pourquoi ? et comment faire ?
What do you mean by "it does not work" ?
can't compile? can't apply to chart? wrong effect? no effect? can't see it on chart?
Have you read the manual and tried the examples?
All these keywords have been in service for years,
if they do not work, surely some heavy user (like me) would have noticed it.


MultiCharts' PowerLanguage is flexible, more flexible and capable than TS' EasyLanguage.
the current set of keywords can put a dot/text/line/arrow anywhere on the screen.
All you have to do is decide the coordinates... and PowerLanguage can draw it for you.

If you need additional help, simply press the [F1] key,
look under PowerLanguage > Keyword Reference > Text Drawing
for all the available keywords.

Easy to follow examples are provided with each keyword.

ditto for Arrow Drawing and Trendline Drawing.

drudominique
Posts: 70
Joined: 17 Mar 2010

Postby drudominique » 15 May 2010

yes it works very well I had a programming error.
yes EasyLanguage the MC is much more flexible, robust and capable than that of TS that is why I program all the time now while at MC in MC is faster than in TS and more stable than the matrix strongly at MC is operational because I'm eager to work only with MC :-)

cordialy
french

oui ça marche très bien j'avais fait une erreur de programmation .
oui l'easylanguage de MC est beaucoup plus souple,solide et capable que celui de TS c'est pour cela que je programme maintenant tout le temps sous MC tout chez MC est plus rapide que sous TS et plus stable vivement que la matrix chez MC soit opérationnel car je suis pressé de travailler uniquement avec MC :-)

cordialement


Return to “MultiCharts”