Autotrade Strategy/Signal Execution problem in real-time

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
davidchow

Autotrade Strategy/Signal Execution problem in real-time

Postby davidchow » 11 Aug 2010

Hi,

I have been using multicharts for strategy development for almost 2 years . We found lots of problem when executing a strategy in real-time comparing with backtest. I use esignal as datafeed. We use volume charts.

1. Problems found in backtest with historical data
We have indicators and signals sharing the same code base . However, we got different results in signals comparing with indicator . For example, we calcuate the sum of difference of (UpTicks-DownTicks) for each bar. It can be different when running the same piece of code within the indicator and the signal over historical data. This is obviously a bug. This will obviously led to an unknown or unexpected behaviour comparing with backtest results when using the signal for autotrade.

2. Missing ticks in real-time datafeed
When using Multicharts with esignal, we found multicharts does skip or missing ticks from real-time data feeds from esignal. We can tell this by open a chart collecting data from esignal in real-time . After market close, we dump the ticks with quotemanger. Then we delete the ticks of the session. Then we reload the ticks from esignal, and redo a dump of ticks with quotemanager. We found ticks missing in the real-time collected data . For example, 09:45:07 have 6 ticks in reloaded historical tick data, and there were only 3 ticks in the realtime collected data . It looks like it happens when many ticks traded within one-second (high frequency cases).