GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp''

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Tresor
Posts: 1104
Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 51 times

GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp''

Postby Tresor » 13 Aug 2010

Hi guys,

Is there any way to have the buttons mentioned in the title on the right (as per picture), just like in Microsoft applications?

Thanks
Attachments
MS GUI.png
MS GUI.png (26.94 KiB) Viewed 268 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6602
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 971 times
Been thanked: 1910 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby TJ » 13 Aug 2010

like this?

Image

just drag all the tool bars to the front of the main menu...
Attachments
buttons.gif
Button
buttons.gif (21.08 KiB) Viewed 343 times

Tresor
Posts: 1104
Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby Tresor » 13 Aug 2010

Very almost like this. How about that? Is it achievable?

The idea is to have (i) the main ''word'' menu on the left, (ii) icons in the middle and (iii) minimize / close on the right.
Attachments
GUI.png
GUI.png (47.1 KiB) Viewed 271 times

Tresor
Posts: 1104
Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby Tresor » 13 Aug 2010

I would also replace / get rid of the icon left to the ''word'' menu for reasons explained in the picture.
Attachments
GUI icon.png
GUI icon.png (21.13 KiB) Viewed 269 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6602
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 971 times
Been thanked: 1910 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby TJ » 13 Aug 2010

Tresor wrote:Very almost like this. How about that? Is it achievable?

The idea is to have (i) the main ''word'' menu on the left, (ii) icons in the middle and (iii) minimize / close on the right.



yup... just drag all the tool bars behind the main menu.

Tresor
Posts: 1104
Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby Tresor » 14 Aug 2010

TJ wrote:yup... just drag all the tool bars behind the main menu.


Tried this several times. It is impossible to drag the icon toolbars directly behind the main menu. One can ony drag the icon toolbars behind ''minimize / detach / resize / close'' buttons
Attachments
GUI impossible.png
GUI impossible.png (23.55 KiB) Viewed 265 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6602
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 971 times
Been thanked: 1910 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby TJ » 14 Aug 2010

Tresor wrote:
TJ wrote:yup... just drag all the tool bars behind the main menu.


Tried this several times. It is impossible to drag the icon toolbars directly behind the main menu. One can ony drag the icon toolbars behind ''minimize / detach / resize / close'' buttons


then drag them to the bottom of the chart...

Tresor
Posts: 1104
Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby Tresor » 14 Aug 2010

TJ wrote:
then drag them to the bottom of the chart...


Okay, so it is not possible the way I wanted...

Tresor
Posts: 1104
Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby Tresor » 14 Aug 2010

MC engineers,

Please have a look at the picture and make MC more Microsotf GUIsh, i.e.:

Main Menu on the left ..................... Icons in the middle ...................... Close on the right

Thanks
Attachments
GUI makes perfect sense now.png
GUI makes perfect sense now.png (24.73 KiB) Viewed 274 times

User avatar
TIKITRADER
Posts: 84
Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Location: USA
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby TIKITRADER » 14 Aug 2010

I know if you follow this image you can add separators where needed.

I have not tried it once separated, but maybe then you can move around where needed.
see image attached.

edit: just tried it no good
Attachments
RIGHT CLICK.jpg
RIGHT CLICK.jpg (94.08 KiB) Viewed 265 times

Tresor
Posts: 1104
Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby Tresor » 14 Aug 2010

TIKITRADER wrote:I know if you follow this image you can add separators where needed.


No, It can't be done in MC the way you described - the main menu is not listed on ''Customize'' list therefore you cannot put a separator behind it.

Also ''det/min/res/close'' buttons are not on ''Customize'' list - you cannot put a separator before it.

User avatar
RobotMan
Posts: 375
Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Location: Los Altos, California, USA
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby RobotMan » 14 Aug 2010

Hi Tresor,

I had the same questions in the past with Marina:
http://www.multicharts.com/discussion/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6479

The detach, minimize, maximize, close buttons are part of the Menu. If you drag a toolbar on to the menu area, the buttons will be placed in front of this toolbar because no objects are allowed to separate items of the Menu. This is a standard behavior for applications.

Tresor
Posts: 1104
Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby Tresor » 14 Aug 2010

RobotMan wrote:I had the same questions in the past with Marina


Thanks RobotMan,

Marina did not solve the problem. And I know now I am not the only one annoyed.

These ''detach / minimize / resize / close'' buttons in the middle are as annoying as a mosquito that starts to fly over your ear, just when you're trying to get asleep. You don't whether it is better to (i) fall asleep and risk a bite or (ii) get up, light the lamp and kill the beast, risking you'll need another hour to get into a sleeping mode.

Anytime I close my workspace accidentally or close MC instead of only a chart because ''detach / minimize / resize / close'' buttons are not placed ergonomically on the right I don't know whether (i) to slap myself or (ii) to throw the computer through the window.

This issue should be resolved by MC engineers finally (before my face turns red permanently).

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6602
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 971 times
Been thanked: 1910 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby TJ » 14 Aug 2010

Tresor wrote:
RobotMan wrote:I had the same questions in the past with Marina


Thanks RobotMan,

Marina did not solve the problem. And I know now I am not the only one annoyed.

These ''detach / minimize / resize / close'' buttons in the middle are as annoying as a mosquito that starts to fly over your ear, just when you're trying to get asleep. You don't whether it is better to (i) fall asleep and risk a bite or (ii) get up, light the lamp and kill the beast, risking you'll need another hour to get into a sleeping mode.

Anytime I close my workspace accidentally or close MC instead of only a chart because ''detach / minimize / resize / close'' buttons are not placed ergonomically on the right I don't know whether (i) to slap myself or (ii) to throw the computer through the window.

This issue should be resolved by MC engineers finally (before my face turns red permanently).


I believe it is the Windows platform standard.
It is not something that can be changed by the developer of an application.

Tresor
Posts: 1104
Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: GUI issue with ''detach / minimize / resize / close wsp'

Postby Tresor » 18 Aug 2010

TJ wrote:I believe it is the Windows platform standard.
It is not something that can be changed by the developer of an application.


I talked to a number of programmers. They say the developer of MC might have used incorrect GUI controls / widgets and this results in the problem.

The current behaviour of MC (GUI) can be changed by MC programmers.


Return to “MultiCharts”