Feature request: Multiplier for Instrument on the same chart

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
User avatar
danilo
Posts: 170
Joined: 02 Jan 2007
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Feature request: Multiplier for Instrument on the same chart

Postby danilo » 16 Oct 2010

Could be useful to add the possibility to add a multiplier to a instrument, when is added to a chart (insted of using the scale parameters). Supposing that you want to plot on the same chart the future on Gold (GC) and the ETF on Gold (GLD), even if the 2 data series are very similar you are unable to plot togheter. If it were possible to add a multiplier to the Instrument (ad example to plot the value of 10 units of GLD) could be possible compare the 2 instruments easily and use all the studies available without any scale change.

Regards,
Danilo

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6572
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1902 times

Re: Feature request: Multiplier for Instrument on the same c

Postby TJ » 16 Oct 2010

danilo wrote:Could be useful to add the possibility to add a multiplier to a instrument, when is added to a chart (insted of using the scale parameters). Supposing that you want to plot on the same chart the future on Gold (GC) and the ETF on Gold (GLD), even if the 2 data series are very similar you are unable to plot togheter. If it were possible to add a multiplier to the Instrument (ad example to plot the value of 10 units of GLD) could be possible compare the 2 instruments easily and use all the studies available without any scale change.

Regards,
Danilo


The beauty of EasyLanguage is
you can easily do this through an indicator...
You don't have to rely on the mercy of the charting program developer.
(also, the developer can't possibly predict every analysis you can imagine in the future.)

Here's how you add a multiplier factor to your price bars.

Code: Select all

// Multiplier
//
// this indicator adds a multiplier to the price bars
//

input:
Multiplier(10);

var:
high.x(0),
low.x(0),
open.x(0),
close.x(0);

high.x = high * multiplier;
low.x = low * multiplier;
open.x = open * multiplier;
close.x = close * multiplier;

plot10(high.x, "High.x");
plot20(low.x, "Low.x");
plot30(open.x, "Open.x");
plot40(close.x, "Close.x");



In the Format Study window,
Under Style tab,
set the following Plot Types:

High.x set as Bar High
Low.x set as Bar Low
Open.x set as Left Tick
Close.x set as Right Tick

User avatar
danilo
Posts: 170
Joined: 02 Jan 2007
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Feature request: Multiplier for Instrument on the same c

Postby danilo » 17 Oct 2010

Dear TJ

thanks for the suggestion. The reason why we prefer that this (simple) feature is added in MC is to avoid the need to change studies. Try to think of what you should do to add a study of MA or MACD etc... to the chart, it would be impossible to use them without changing the existing studies, while I have wrote:
"could be possible compare the 2 instruments easily and use all the studies available without any scale change"
Some time ago I asked to add the percentage chart in MC (that is availabe in TS and in a lot of other TA software). The issue is that if is implemented in "native" format you can use the existing studies without the necessity to adapt them.

I would also suggest again the implementation of the percentage chart (see the topic: http://www.multicharts.com/discussion/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=5785&hilit=percentage+chart)

Regards,
Danilo

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Re: Feature request: Multiplier for Instrument on the same c

Postby Dave Masalov » 11 Nov 2010

Dear Danilo,

Your feature requests have been forwarded to the developers.


Return to “MultiCharts”