MBT - FX - (Micro) Lot Size

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
fibonaccci
Posts: 44
Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 1 time

MBT - FX - (Micro) Lot Size

Postby fibonaccci » 09 Nov 2010

Hi,

how can I set up a micro lot ( 0,1 = 1,000 ) in MC ?
The lowest possible value under properties is 1
which would be a 10,000 lot size with MBT.

Thank you very much, Best Regards

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Re: MBT - FX - (Micro) Lot Size

Postby Dave Masalov » 10 Nov 2010

Dear fibonaccci,

For MBT 1=1 contract in MultiCharts. So you should set 1000 for a micro lot.

iso
Posts: 204
Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: MBT - FX - (Micro) Lot Size

Postby iso » 21 Dec 2010

Hello,

Can you please explain this further? I am also trying to set up fx at MB with their micro lot sizes. I can't seem to figure out how to set up the symbol settings so fx symbols display correctly and when auto trading the values are correct. I have read through the forum and there seems to be alot of different information on this subject.

So right now the EUR/USD is at 1.3141_40

and with 1000 (1 lot) the minimum size in MB if the price moves from 1.3141_40 to 1.3141_50 it should equal $.01 and if it moves from 1.3141_40 to 1.3142_40 it should equal $.10

It seems if the price scale should be set to 1/100,000 (0.00001) and the Big Point Value should be set to 1000 but that doesn't seem to work.

Attached is a screenshot of a strategy buying 5000 (5 lots) and the P/L is obviously way off.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Attachments
10-12-21_12.14.47001.png
10-12-21_12.14.47001.png (157.03 KiB) Viewed 237 times

iso
Posts: 204
Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: MBT - FX - (Micro) Lot Size

Postby iso » 28 Dec 2010

is there any way support could give some feedback on how this should be set up?

thanks...

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Re: MBT - FX - (Micro) Lot Size

Postby Dave Masalov » 29 Dec 2010

Dear iso,

Probably, your account does not support micro lots. Please try to use BPV = 10000.

Tresor
Posts: 1104
Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: MBT - FX - (Micro) Lot Size

Postby Tresor » 29 Dec 2010

fibonaccci wrote:how can I set up a micro lot ( 0,1 = 1,000 ) in MC ?


To my limited knowledge (I may be wrong) brokers use the following nomenclature for fractional trading units:
100,000 = 1 lot
0.1 lot = 1 mini lot (not a micro lot)
0.01 lot = 1micro lot
0.001 lot = 1 nano lot

Therefore, 0.1 = 10,000 (not 1,000).

iso
Posts: 204
Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: MBT - FX - (Micro) Lot Size

Postby iso » 29 Dec 2010

I trade forex through MB so I know I am trading micro lots. All fx accounts at MB have the capability to trade in lots of 1000 so there is no differentiation between standard / mini and micro accounts. Please let me know how this should be set up.

Thanks

iso
Posts: 204
Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: MBT - FX - (Micro) Lot Size

Postby iso » 18 Jan 2011

Hi Dave,

Is there any news on how this should be setup?

Thanks

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Re: MBT - FX - (Micro) Lot Size

Postby Dave Masalov » 19 Jan 2011

Dear iso,

Please find attached the screenshot showing correct settings. The screenshot is made in MC 7 Pre-Alpha, however the main dialogues have not changed.
Attachments
MBTSettings.png
MBTSettings.png (182.89 KiB) Viewed 265 times


Return to “MultiCharts”