cannot chart custom continuous futures from esignal

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
mt9672
Posts: 20
Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 9 times

cannot chart custom continuous futures from esignal

Postby mt9672 » 24 Nov 2010

Hi.

I cannot chart MC-custom futures from esignal to MC6.1.
I have used "QM->Instrument->Add custom futures" as seen in the enclosed figs.
but message is "no data" in the MC chart and "To construct ~ confirm ~"(see figs) in dialog box.

I can chart already-made continuous futures "6E #F" from esignal to the MC chart,
and I can chart esignal-made custom futures "6E 1!" to the Esignal chart.

I want to chart MC-custom-made continous futures in the MC chart.
but I cannot finish that function in the MC as seen in the enclosed figs.

what should I do to fix this problem.?

Thanks for you in advance.
Regards...
Attachments
MC_error.jpg
MC_error.jpg (32.83 KiB) Viewed 205 times
Last edited by mt9672 on 24 Nov 2010, edited 1 time in total.

mt9672
Posts: 20
Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 9 times

Re: cannot chart custom continuous futures from esignal

Postby mt9672 » 24 Nov 2010

fig 2
Attachments
MC_error_00000.jpg
MC_error_00000.jpg (24.18 KiB) Viewed 195 times

mt9672
Posts: 20
Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 9 times

Re: cannot chart custom continuous futures from esignal

Postby mt9672 » 24 Nov 2010

fig3
Attachments
MC_error_00001.jpg
MC_error_00001.jpg (50.78 KiB) Viewed 188 times

mt9672
Posts: 20
Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 9 times

Re: cannot chart custom continuous futures from esignal

Postby mt9672 » 24 Nov 2010

fig 4
Attachments
MC_error_00005.jpg
MC_error_00005.jpg (79.3 KiB) Viewed 185 times
MC_error_00004.jpg
MC_error_00004.jpg (108.04 KiB) Viewed 185 times
MC_error_00003.jpg
MC_error_00003.jpg (71.78 KiB) Viewed 182 times
MC_error_00002.jpg
MC_error_00002.jpg (140.37 KiB) Viewed 186 times

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Re: cannot chart custom continuous futures from esignal

Postby Dave Masalov » 24 Nov 2010

Dear mt9672,

Custom Futures chart can be plotted only if you have added normal futures contracts into Quote Manager database. These symbols are not added automatically. Please see the attached screenshot.

Have you added CL X0, CL X0, CL Z0... symbols from eSignal in Quote Manager? Is the exchange set for these symbols Nyme and Root - CL? Can you plot a charts for these contracts, CL X0 for example?

If the answer to all above questions is yes and you are still experiencing a problem, then please come to our Live Chat between 6:30AM and 12AM so we can connect to your computer remotely and help you.
Attachments
CL contracts.PNG
CL contracts.PNG (89.1 KiB) Viewed 205 times
These users thanked the author Dave Masalov for the post:
mt9672

mt9672
Posts: 20
Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 9 times

Re: cannot chart custom continuous futures from esignal

Postby mt9672 » 27 Nov 2010

Thank you.

so, I have tried to add those symbols.

but another problem appeared in adding symbols which constitute custom futures.

when QM->add symbol->from data source->esignal, there is only one previous contract symbol 6A Z0.

I can't find any previous contract symbol like 6A u2009, 6A v2009,.... for example.

I need over 10 previous contract symbol to construct entire custom futures with 400 bar.

I can chart 6A U2009 in the Esignal.

what is the problem? and what I should do to fix this.

thanks in advance..
Attachments
MC_addsymbol_00000.jpg
MC_addsymbol_00000.jpg (181.86 KiB) Viewed 196 times
MC_addsymbol.jpg
MC_addsymbol.jpg (143.38 KiB) Viewed 190 times

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Re: cannot chart custom continuous futures from esignal

Postby Dave Masalov » 03 Dec 2010

Dear mt9672,

eSignal does not provide expired contracts in symbol list.

Here is the easiest way to add them:

1) Add a contract From Data Source, i.e. CL X1 (you can add multiple contractsCL X1,CL V1, CL U1... etc.)
2) Rename it in Quote Manager (without plotting the charts for them before renaming) - CL X1 -> CL X2010 (CL V1 -> CL V2010, CL U1 ->CL U2010... etc. )

Thus, you will get data for CL X2010 , CL V2010, CL U2010...

You can do the following for other eSignal symbols: 6A, 6B etc.
These users thanked the author Dave Masalov for the post:
mt9672

mt9672
Posts: 20
Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 9 times

Re: cannot chart custom continuous futures from esignal

Postby mt9672 » 03 Dec 2010

Thank you very much.

The problem fixed.

thank you again.

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Re: cannot chart custom continuous futures from esignal

Postby Dave Masalov » 03 Dec 2010

Dear mt9672,

You are welcome. Glad to hear the problem has been solved.
These users thanked the author Dave Masalov for the post:
mt9672


Return to “MultiCharts”