Text_New funtion for tick bar

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
ppan
Posts: 106
Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Has thanked: 2 times

Text_New funtion for tick bar

Postby ppan » 05 Jan 2011

The Text_New_s cannot be applied for tick bar because there are many tick bars has the same time. Is there any plan for adding "Text_New_Bar" function for each bar?

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6584
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 970 times
Been thanked: 1907 times

Re: Text_New funtion for tick bar

Postby TJ » 05 Jan 2011

ppan wrote:The Text_New_s cannot be applied for tick bar because there are many tick bars has the same time. Is there any plan for adding "Text_New_Bar" function for each bar?


you have to use TIME_S with TEXT_NEW_S.


you can post your code if you need help programming.

ppan
Posts: 106
Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Text_New funtion for tick bar

Postby ppan » 06 Jan 2011

Hi TJ,

From example, there are 10 ticks have the same time stamp of 15:00:00. If I want to plot the text on each of the tick bar, the TEXT_NEW_S cannot locate the exact bar I want to plot.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6584
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 970 times
Been thanked: 1907 times

Re: Text_New funtion for tick bar

Postby TJ » 06 Jan 2011

ppan wrote:Hi TJ,

From example, there are 10 ticks have the same time stamp of 15:00:00. If I want to plot the text on each of the tick bar, the TEXT_NEW_S cannot locate the exact bar I want to plot.



TS's EasyLanguage can do analysis down to the minute level.

MultiCharts' PowerLanguage can do analysis down to the seconds level.

I don't know many retail software that can do sub-seconds analysis.
Internet latency would make the analysis unpractical and, in some cases, irrelevant.


my only possible suggestion (might not be useful to you),
is to increase the tick counts so that each bar is at least one second in time duration.

ppan
Posts: 106
Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Text_New funtion for tick bar

Postby ppan » 06 Jan 2011

Hi TJ,

I don't need the sub-seconds level analysis. I just need the bar level analysis. There is a bar no. for each bar. I think just use bar no. instead of time_s to plot the text can solve the problem.

ppan
Posts: 106
Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Text_New funtion for tick bar

Postby ppan » 11 Jan 2011

Hi Dave,

Do you have any suggestion?

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Re: Text_New funtion for tick bar

Postby Dave Masalov » 14 Jan 2011

Dear ppan,

This is not possible at the moment. You can make a feature request for "Text_New_Bar" function in Project Management.


Return to “MultiCharts”