RSI region, how to define

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
arjfca
Posts: 1292
Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 725 times
Been thanked: 223 times

RSI region, how to define

Postby arjfca » 13 Jan 2011

Hello

Simple question, but just can't figure how to do it

Using the RSI indicator, we could see that the region of validation is in blue. Now, how do I code to read it? Reading the RSI value does not tell if the region is valid or not

Any help appreciated

Martin
Attachments
RSI_Validation_Region.jpg
(57.48 KiB) Downloaded 338 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: RSI region, how to define

Postby TJ » 13 Jan 2011

Hello

Simple question, but just can't figure how to do it

Using the RSI indicator, we could see that the region of validation is in blue. Now, how do I code to read it? Reading the RSI value does not tell if the region is valid or not

Any help appreciated

Martin
I am not sure if I understand you fully what you want to achieve...

you can look up:

getplotcolor

arjfca
Posts: 1292
Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 725 times
Been thanked: 223 times

Re: RSI region, how to define

Postby arjfca » 14 Jan 2011

Hello TJ

I will try to better explain using my own English { Not my language :) }

The RSI indicator is placed under my chart, Visually the line change colors in the region of 70 and -30. This portions of the line that as another color seems to be the region where the price react.

My actual coded rules is to act upon the RSI <=70 for a short or RSI>=30 for a long. Problem is those regions with a modified color, does not necessaries comply with that rules.

See this new attach pict. A picture worth thousand words we say in French

Martin
Attachments
RSI_Validation_Region_2.jpg
(163.25 KiB) Downloaded 332 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: RSI region, how to define

Postby TJ » 14 Jan 2011

You need to write down your logic in even greater detail.

maybe you can consider:

Code: Select all

if RSI(c,7)[1] < 30 and RSI(c,7) > 30 then...

arjfca
Posts: 1292
Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 725 times
Been thanked: 223 times

Re: RSI region, how to define

Postby arjfca » 14 Jan 2011

Sound logical

I think that it s the solution :)

Martin


Return to “MultiCharts”