is it possible to use trailing stop trigger as indicator?

Studies that have been contributed to the community by other users. If you’ve got something useful to share, that’s great!
justmake
Posts: 42
Joined: 21 Dec 2010
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 1 time

is it possible to use trailing stop trigger as indicator?

Postby justmake » 25 Feb 2011

Hello,

Is it possible to use trailing stop of one symbas as indicator of another symbol?

I found when I run a trailing stop on one symbol A, when the trailing stop order is triggerd, it is also useful an indicator of exiting symbol B. But I wonder if we can code this in power language.

Code: Select all

Workspace on Symbol A
Buy 100 shares next bar at market ;
SetStopPosition;
SetDollarTrailing(DollarT);
Usually we make symbol A as data 2 and use indicator of data2 as indicator of data1( Symbol B).

But can we use the trigger point of DollarTraing(DollarT) of data 2 as indicator of data1?
As far as I know we cannot trade on data 2 so no trigger point of data 2 can be calculated.

Any good idea?

thanks.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: is it possible to use trailing stop trigger as indicator

Postby TJ » 28 Mar 2011

Hello,

Is it possible to use trailing stop of one symbas as indicator of another symbol?

I found when I run a trailing stop on one symbol A, when the trailing stop order is triggerd, it is also useful an indicator of exiting symbol B. But I wonder if we can code this in power language.

Code: Select all

Workspace on Symbol A
Buy 100 shares next bar at market ;
SetStopPosition;
SetDollarTrailing(DollarT);
Usually we make symbol A as data 2 and use indicator of data2 as indicator of data1( Symbol B).

But can we use the trigger point of DollarTraing(DollarT) of data 2 as indicator of data1?
As far as I know we cannot trade on data 2 so no trigger point of data 2 can be calculated.

Any good idea?

thanks.
if you want to pass data (info) between charts,
do a search for ADE (All Data Everywhere).

justmake
Posts: 42
Joined: 21 Dec 2010
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: is it possible to use trailing stop trigger as indicator

Postby justmake » 29 Mar 2011

Hello,TJ,

Thanks, it seems to be the way to do it.
Is it easier to use default Global variable than using ADE?

Just want to know your opinion.

thanks.
Justmake


Return to “User Contributed Studies and Indicator Library”