FXCM on MultiCharts7

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
DRCM
Posts: 164
Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Location: England
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 8 times

FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby DRCM » 26 Sep 2011

Hello,

where can I find step-by-step instructions to set my MultiCharts7 to work with FXCM Real account?

Thanks

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8443
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2704 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 26 Sep 2011

Hello DRCM.
In order to use FXCM as broker you need to install FxOrder2go from this link first:
http://www.fxcorporate.com/Order2Go/FXOrder2Go.EXE
Then please follow the attached guide to set up the broker profile for FXCM in MultiCharts.
Attachments
FXCM.doc
(131 KiB) Downloaded 104 times

DRCM
Posts: 164
Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Location: England
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby DRCM » 26 Sep 2011

Ok Henry, Thanks. All works now. Following question would be " how to set MC to get market data straight from FXCM?". There is no data source like FXCM to choose on MC. Now I use IQFeeD symbols for forex like eurusd.fxcm, gbpusd.fxcm , but I`d like to get direct feed from FXCM. And what about DOM using with FXCM. I can`t get it working.

Thanks

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8443
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2704 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 26 Sep 2011

You can get FXCM data only through our servers.
We provide MultiCharts Forex Data (up to 10 years of FXCM data).
This subscription is separate from MC license.
Please contact us directly if you are interested in 2 weeks trial.
Unfortunately DOM is not available for FXCM broker.

DRCM
Posts: 164
Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Location: England
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby DRCM » 26 Sep 2011

Ok. Thanks for your help. I gonna use IQFeeD FXCM Forex Data for now. If I find any problems with current data feed I let you know. Btw, where can I find all info and prices about MultiCharts Forex Data?
Thanks

P.S. Is there any plans to implement DOM for FXCM in the nearest future?

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8443
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2704 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 26 Sep 2011

We do not plan to implement DOM for FXCM at the moment.

DRCM
Posts: 164
Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Location: England
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby DRCM » 26 Sep 2011

Hello,

Exit strategies on chart trading with FXCM broker don`t work, I`m not able to place them. I tryed profit target, stop loss and bracket strategies. I can place order STP, LMT , but only BUY. it doesn`t let to choose between buy and sell orders. Why? Does chart trading supported at all or I do something wrong here?

Thanks

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8443
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2704 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 27 Sep 2011

Exit strategy can be applied to an open position or entry order.
The only order type FXCM broker does not support is Stopl Limit order.
Other exit strategies should be applied properly.
Please notice that when you apply the master strategy-you cannot apply any other exit strategies.
If you still have diffculties with applying exit strategies-please come to our live chat Monday-Friday 6:30 am - 2 pm EST.
We will do our best to help you.

DRCM
Posts: 164
Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Location: England
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby DRCM » 27 Sep 2011

Hello,

I`ll give an example here. I place a Limit Order to Sell EURUSD at 1.3605, it`s ok it shows on my chart. Then I apply exit strategy Profit Target @ 1.3590 and it is appears on my chart transparent, also, when Limit Order done Profit Traget disappears from my chart and no exits records on FXCM platform except that main Order. Same problem with Bracket, Stop Loss. After applying them it shows transparent on chart and disappear after main order execution and no exits shown on FXCM platform.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8443
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2704 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 28 Sep 2011

Please come to our live chat Monday-Friday 6:30 am - 2 pm EST for further investigation.
I would like to connect to your PC and have a look at the issue.

DRCM
Posts: 164
Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Location: England
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby DRCM » 03 Oct 2011

Hello,

During Live Chat session I`ve been told to switch off hedging on my account. Just wanna let you know that exit strategies still doesn`t work after that.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8443
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2704 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 03 Oct 2011

Hello DRCM.
Have you contacted FXCM and disabled hedging?
Last edited by Henry MultiСharts on 03 Oct 2011, edited 2 times in total.

DRCM
Posts: 164
Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Location: England
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby DRCM » 03 Oct 2011

No. If you go into your online account you can do it yourself. I`ve received confirmation email from FXCM that it is disabled now.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8443
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2704 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 03 Oct 2011

Is your FXCM account "Type F" ?

DRCM
Posts: 164
Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Location: England
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby DRCM » 03 Oct 2011

If honestly I don`t know what Type F means, but it`s real micro account.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8443
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2704 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 03 Oct 2011

You can check it in the FXCM trading station.
In the accounts window please have a look at the Type column.
Please let me know what account type do you have.
Attachments
FXCM_TradingStation.png
FXCM_TradingStation.png (83.08 KiB) Viewed 563 times

DRCM
Posts: 164
Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Location: England
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby DRCM » 03 Oct 2011

My account is Type N .

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8443
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2704 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 04 Oct 2011

Please install the latest version of Multicharts 7.0.1
It can be downloaded from this page:
https://www.multicharts.com/trading-software-download/
If this solution didn't help and you still have the issue-
please come to our live chat Monday-Friday 6:30 am - 2 pm EST.
We will do our best to help you.

DRCM
Posts: 164
Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Location: England
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby DRCM » 04 Oct 2011

Hello,

MC 7.0.1 haven`t sorted anything. The problem still exist.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8443
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2704 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 10 Oct 2011

Solution:
File->Broker profiles->Manage broker profiles->FXCM->Edit.
Default account line should remain empty in case you have 1 account.
In case you have multiple accounts under one login and you need to set the default one - the correct account number should be input.

DRCM
Posts: 164
Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Location: England
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby DRCM » 10 Oct 2011

Thanks Henry for your help. Everything works now without any problems.

bretter
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby bretter » 16 Oct 2011

If my account type is "Type F" then can I use MC7 to use the FXCM data and trade through MC rather than FXCM TS II?

Thanks,
B

DRCM
Posts: 164
Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Location: England
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby DRCM » 16 Oct 2011

Hi,

I think account Type F is hedging enabled, I`ve been told by MC team that hedging is not supported yet on MC7 and had to change to Type N. You can disable it going into your account settings online straight from FXCM TS II. But if you want to use FXCM data you`ve got to go for MultiCharts Forex Data Feed https://www.multicharts.com/forex-data/ or you can get MCFX, MCFX Pro https://www.multicharts.com/forex-tradin ... /purchase/ . But there is another way to use MC7 with FXCM standard or micro account, I use IQFeeD FXCM data, do symbol mapping and it works ok.
These users thanked the author DRCM for the post:
bretter

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8443
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2704 times

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 17 Oct 2011

Hello Bretter.
You can use FXCM Type F account in MultiCharts 7.1 beta 1 and higher.
Please keep in mind that you need to have hedging disabled for your account.

bretter
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: FXCM on MultiCharts7

Postby bretter » 17 Oct 2011

Thanks Henry and DRCM! I will try it with beta1. And I have a U.S. account, so I assume that hedging is disabled by default because of the new laws here in the states. I will check with FXCM to make sure.

Thanks,
B


Return to “MultiCharts”