Does Multicharts support Rotational Trading?

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
tradinghumble
Posts: 38
Joined: 11 Jun 2006

Does Multicharts support Rotational Trading?

Postby tradinghumble » 09 Oct 2011

Example buy top 3 ETFs ranked by lowest RSI ... is it doable in MC?

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7742
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Re: Does Multicharts support Rotational Trading?

Postby TJ » 09 Oct 2011

Example buy top 3 ETFs ranked by lowest RSI ... is it doable in MC?
Sure... if you can think of the logic, if you can quantify the variables, you can program it.





ps. what you have posted is a general idea... you need to drill down deeper into finer details.

tradinghumble
Posts: 38
Joined: 11 Jun 2006

Re: Does Multicharts support Rotational Trading?

Postby tradinghumble » 16 Oct 2011

Ok, fair enough, I agree that I was not clear enough, let me try again:

Using the NQ100 as list of stocks
Buy top 5 stocks measured by their distance from MA200 (above), they must be below 20MA
Stocks will be bought on Friday (close) and sold on the next Friday (close)
Allocate 20% of the equity for each stock

Is this possible to code? Would appreciate some pointers.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7742
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Re: Does Multicharts support Rotational Trading?

Postby TJ » 16 Oct 2011

Ok, fair enough, I agree that I was not clear enough, let me try again:

Using the NQ100 as list of stocks
Buy top 5 stocks measured by their distance from MA200 (above), they must be below 20MA
Stocks will be bought on Friday (close) and sold on the next Friday (close)
Allocate 20% of the equity for each stock

Is this possible to code? Would appreciate some pointers.
This is a top level concept.
You will need to draw a flow chart to map out your logic. There will be lots of decision trees along the way that you need to consider.

This is a minimum 40 hr project for an experienced programmer.

You will probably make changes to your idea as the project develops, and fine tune your logic because you will discover variables that you did not consider before... and that will significantly add to the project time.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7742
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Re: Does Multicharts support Rotational Trading?

Postby TJ » 16 Oct 2011

example of a flowchart

Image

tradinghumble
Posts: 38
Joined: 11 Jun 2006

Re: Does Multicharts support Rotational Trading?

Postby tradinghumble » 16 Oct 2011

TJ, I have used a code similar to this in AB, all I am trying to do is to use MC instead, which is my platform of choice. Note: code below is just an example, not exactly the logic I presented in my previous post.

Code: Select all

SetTradeDelays( 0, 0, 0, 0 ); //All buys and sells take place on
same bar as signal
SetOption( "InitialEquity", 100000 );
SetOption( "MinShares", 1 );
SetOption( "MinPosValue",> 100 );
SetPositionSize( 20, spsPercentOfEquity );
SetOption( "AllowPositionShrinking", True> );
SetOption( "ActivateStopsImmediately", True );
SetOption( "AllowSameBarExit", True );
SetOption( "CommissionMode", 3 );
SetOption( "CommissionAmount", 0.01 );
SetOption( "MarginRequirement", 100 );
SetOption( "PortfolioReportMode", 0 );
SetOption( "MaxOpenPositions", > 5 );
SetOption( "UsePrevBarEquityForPosSizing", True );
SetOption( "MaxOpenLong", 5 );

RoundLotSize = 1;
TickSize = .01;
MarginDeposit = 0;
PointValue = 1;

StopPercent = 10;
RSIEntry = 30;
RSIExit = 70;

PositionScore = 100-RSI(2); //Lowest RSI2 stocks rank highest
Buy=Cross(RSIEntry,Ref(RSI(2),-1)); //Ref() used to shift buy to next
bar to accomplish delay while keeping delays 0,0,0,0
Sell=RSI(2)>RSIExit;
BuyPrice = Open;
SellPrice = Close;
ApplyStop(stopTypeLoss,stopModePercent,StopPercent,1,False,0);
// End of sample code

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7742
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Re: Does Multicharts support Rotational Trading?

Postby TJ » 16 Oct 2011

TJ, I have used a code similar to this in AB, all I am trying to do is to use MC instead, which is my platform of choice. Note: code below is just an example, not exactly the logic I presented in my previous post.

SetTradeDelays( 0, 0, 0, 0 ); //All buys and sells take place on
same bar as signal
SetOption( "InitialEquity", 100000 );
SetOption( "MinShares", 1 );
SetOption( "MinPosValue",> 100 );
SetPositionSize( 20, spsPercentOfEquity );
SetOption( "AllowPositionShrinking", True> );
SetOption( "ActivateStopsImmediately", True );
SetOption( "AllowSameBarExit", True );
SetOption( "CommissionMode", 3 );
SetOption( "CommissionAmount", 0.01 );
SetOption( "MarginRequirement", 100 );
SetOption( "PortfolioReportMode", 0 );
SetOption( "MaxOpenPositions", > 5 );
SetOption( "UsePrevBarEquityForPosSizing", True );
SetOption( "MaxOpenLong", 5 );

RoundLotSize = 1;
TickSize = .01;
MarginDeposit = 0;
PointValue = 1;

StopPercent = 10;
RSIEntry = 30;
RSIExit = 70;

PositionScore = 100-RSI(2); //Lowest RSI2 stocks rank highest
Buy=Cross(RSIEntry,Ref(RSI(2),-1)); //Ref() used to shift buy to next
bar to accomplish delay while keeping delays 0,0,0,0
Sell=RSI(2)>RSIExit;
BuyPrice = Open;
SellPrice = Close;
ApplyStop(stopTypeLoss,stopModePercent,StopPercent,1,False,0);
// End of sample code
Most people spent the time in the development and fine tuning of their logic.
If you have defined the logic (eg. with a frozen detail flowchart),
the coding time will be a lot shorter.


ps. please use code tag when posting codes.
I have tagged them for you in the above post.


Return to “MultiCharts”