Volume not available whereas properly imported

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Nicolas23
Posts: 50
Joined: 13 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Volume not available whereas properly imported

Postby Nicolas23 » 14 Oct 2011

Dear all,

I am a beginner with MultiCharts, so please forgive me in case of stupid question.

My problem: Volume information is not available in Chart Window or in studies whereas volume information was imported.

More precisely...

I am using ES historical 1-minute data which contains volume information.
During the import, the volume information was imported into the "Volume" field.
When I check in the QuotesManager with EditData (but I performed no change in the data), the information is there, in "TotalVol" column.

Then, I draw the chart in MultiCharts.
But the Volume does not appear in the "Data Window".
There are only "Up Vol" and "Dn Vol", both at zero for all bars.
(Settings: Build Volume on Trade Volume. Anyway, Tick Volume does not change the situation.

An indicator "plot1(Volume, "volume");" is flat at zero.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Nicolas

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6521
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 957 times
Been thanked: 1883 times

Re: Volume not available whereas properly imported

Postby TJ » 14 Oct 2011

Nicolas23 wrote:Dear all,

I am a beginner with MultiCharts, so please forgive me in case of stupid question.

My problem: Volume information is not available in Chart Window or in studies whereas volume information was imported.

More precisely...

I am using ES historical 1-minute data which contains volume information.
During the import, the volume information was imported into the "Volume" field.
When I check in the QuotesManager with EditData (but I performed no change in the data), the information is there, in "TotalVol" column.

Then, I draw the chart in MultiCharts.
But the Volume does not appear in the "Data Window".
There are only "Up Vol" and "Dn Vol", both at zero for all bars.
(Settings: Build Volume on Trade Volume. Anyway, Tick Volume does not change the situation.

An indicator "plot1(Volume, "volume");" is flat at zero.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Nicolas



try:

Code: Select all

plot1(ticks, "volume");

Nicolas23
Posts: 50
Joined: 13 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Volume not available whereas properly imported

Postby Nicolas23 » 14 Oct 2011

Thanks for your answer.
Unfortunately, this indicator is flat at zero as well. :-(
I would like to highlight that no volume information is available in the "Data Window" of MultiCharts, as if the volume has not travelled from Quotes Manager to MultiCharts.
Thanks again!

Nicolas

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8383
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1200 times
Been thanked: 2679 times

Re: Volume not available whereas properly imported

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 14 Oct 2011

Hello Nicolas.
Please try to import the volume data into the UpVolume field.
These users thanked the author Henry MultiСharts for the post:
Nicolas23

Nicolas23
Posts: 50
Joined: 13 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Volume not available whereas properly imported

Postby Nicolas23 » 14 Oct 2011

It worked, thanks! :-)

(I also "cleared cache" in Quotes Manager before opening the chart in MultiCharts, but I do not know if this additional operation was necessary.)

Thanks again,

Nicolas


Return to “MultiCharts”