MultiCharts CPU usage  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
James az

MultiCharts CPU usage  [SOLVED]

Postby James az » 09 Nov 2011

I don't mean to complain, but I'm running DT version 7.1 Beta 1 (Build 70) currently, with a MB Trading demo data feed.

I don't understand why after about an hour running a 1 minute chart the MultiCharts CPU usage climbs to 98%-99% and the responsiveness to other programs on the computer slows way down.

I this a known problem, or something I should report?

Thanks.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6523
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 957 times
Been thanked: 1883 times

Re: MultiCharts CPU usage

Postby TJ » 09 Nov 2011

James az wrote:I don't mean to complain, but I'm running DT version 7.1 Beta 1 (Build 70) currently, with a MB Trading demo data feed.

I don't understand why after about an hour running a 1 minute chart the MultiCharts CPU usage climbs to 98%-99% and the responsiveness to other programs on the computer slows way down.

I this a known problem, or something I should report?

Thanks.

This is not normal.

How many charts/symbols/indicators you are running?
What are your chart resolution?
How many bars do you have on the chart?

Guest

Re: MultiCharts CPU usage

Postby Guest » 09 Nov 2011

TJ,

I had two AUD/USD charts up, same 1 minute time resolution with different study templates on them. They are set to plot 60 days of data.

Thanks.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6523
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 957 times
Been thanked: 1883 times

Re: MultiCharts CPU usage

Postby TJ » 09 Nov 2011

Guest wrote:TJ,

I had two AUD/USD charts up, same 1 minute time resolution with different study templates on them. They are set to plot 60 days of data.

Thanks.

Go to the TaskManager,
look under the Processes tab,
click on the CPU column head.
You can see which process is taking up the most CPU cycles.


Also, are you running Anti-Virus?
Make sure your broker program is in the trusted list.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8394
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1201 times
Been thanked: 2681 times

Re: MultiCharts CPU usage

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 11 Nov 2011

James az wrote:I don't mean to complain, but I'm running DT version 7.1 Beta 1 (Build 70) currently, with a MB Trading demo data feed.

I don't understand why after about an hour running a 1 minute chart the MultiCharts CPU usage climbs to 98%-99% and the responsiveness to other programs on the computer slows way down.

I this a known problem, or something I should report?

Thanks.

Please let us know what exact version of MBT software are you running.
What studies do you have applied to the charts?

James az

Re: MultiCharts CPU usage

Postby James az » 13 Nov 2011

MultiCharts has been stable for the last few days running at a more normal 2% CPU usage.

Still, the high 99% CPU usage has happened more than once before. I guess I thought it was more reproducible than it is. I haven't figured out what caused it but will see if it tracks with running the software at a particular time of day, or a particular set of indicator studies.

Thanks.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6523
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 957 times
Been thanked: 1883 times

Re: MultiCharts CPU usage

Postby TJ » 13 Nov 2011

Go to your Taskmanager, click on the CPU column heading.
It will sort the CPU usage from high to low.
You can then identify which program is hogging all the CPU cycles.

Image
Attachments
TaskmanagerCPU.gif
TaskmanagerCPU.gif (27.78 KiB) Viewed 542 times


Return to “MultiCharts”