beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
gpw797
Posts: 150
Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Been thanked: 5 times

beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby gpw797 » 21 Nov 2011

Today MC didn't execute any of my strategy orders. No trades placed... Green indicator was on left hand corner of chart but nothing happened. Connection to broker was green as well. Looked at broker logs and there was no errors with broker.. orders were not placed. Reloaded and strategy orders that should have been placed showed up. Is there something one can do to see if strategy is actually running? Sometimes everything appears correct but orders don't happen.. other times it works fine.. More bugs ??

PricePuzzle
Posts: 38
Joined: 21 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby PricePuzzle » 21 Nov 2011

I got the same problem. Then i restart MC, but it does not solved. After that i restart my server. So far i have MC run 10hrs with out problem (placing 3 to 4 orders). I spend all day looking at monitor!

My observation, from the log (in my case "FXCMTradingSystem_Trace")
--------------------------------------------
[0x00000298](20.11.2011 - 21:16:11.778)UpdateAccount: AName= , AID= , Hedging= N
[0x00000298](20.11.2011 - 21:16:12.092)IsConnected: 1, m_StartConnect= 1
[0x00000298](20.11.2011 - 21:16:12.094)IsConnected: 1, m_StartConnect= 1
[0x00000298](20.11.2011 - 21:16:12.110)OrdersProcessingBasis: PerPositionBasis
[0x00000298](20.11.2011 - 21:16:15.723)UpdateAccount: AName= , AID= , Hedging= N
--------------------------------------------
This "PerPositionBasis" is new setting line. I guess MC has change some setting and need restart to initiate. If this is true, it should be a warning dialog about setting. I leave the server connected to broker all weekend. Best time to restarting MC's servers is Fri 24:00.

If your broker server log has "PerPositionBasis" means already upgrading. Should be fine. Afterthat you may receive the Rejected log as in attached, when you click on OPT. If you want to sync then you have to manually send order.

1.png
1.png (204.29 KiB) Viewed 519 times

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8503
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2731 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 22 Nov 2011

gpw797 wrote:Today MC didn't execute any of my strategy orders. No trades placed... Green indicator was on left hand corner of chart but nothing happened. Connection to broker was green as well. Looked at broker logs and there was no errors with broker.. orders were not placed. Reloaded and strategy orders that should have been placed showed up. Is there something one can do to see if strategy is actually running? Sometimes everything appears correct but orders don't happen.. other times it works fine.. More bugs ??

Are the orders rejected or they were not generated at all?
Please go to File -> New -> Order and position tracker window -> Orders tab.
If the orders are rejected-are there any error messages in the Logs tab regarding these orders?

gpw797
Posts: 150
Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby gpw797 » 22 Nov 2011

Henry Multicharts wrote:
gpw797 wrote:Today MC didn't execute any of my strategy orders. No trades placed... Green indicator was on left hand corner of chart but nothing happened. Connection to broker was green as well. Looked at broker logs and there was no errors with broker.. orders were not placed. Reloaded and strategy orders that should have been placed showed up. Is there something one can do to see if strategy is actually running? Sometimes everything appears correct but orders don't happen.. other times it works fine.. More bugs ??

Are the orders rejected or they were not generated at all?
Please go to File -> New -> Order and position tracker window -> Orders tab.
If the orders are rejected-are there any error messages in the Logs tab regarding these orders?


I am assuming this information is session specific because I am not seeing any old data and can't tell what it did yesterday. There are no errors in broker log so I am sure that no orders are being placed.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8503
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2731 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 22 Nov 2011

There are filters on the top of the Order and position tracker window.
You should be able to see the information about the yesterday's order.
Please make sure you have all profiles, instruments and sources selected with the proper From - To date.

gpw797
Posts: 150
Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby gpw797 » 22 Nov 2011

It states that the orders were "rejected" and in the TIF column it says that "TIF unspecified"

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8503
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2731 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 22 Nov 2011

Please open Order and position tracker window then go to File->Export to excel.
Export the Orders and Logs tab and attach them for further investigation.

gpw797
Posts: 150
Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby gpw797 » 22 Nov 2011

I don't use excel but use open office instead and it looks like export won't complete without excel installed.

I got export to work. Files are attached (forum doesn't accept csv so I changed extension)
Attachments
__scr_2011_11_22_16_14_56.csv.txt
(6.84 KiB) Downloaded 44 times
__scr_2011_11_22_16_06_04.csv.txt
(2.42 KiB) Downloaded 33 times

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8503
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2731 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 22 Nov 2011

In MultiCharts please go to Format->Strategy properies->Auto trading.
Check that order confirmation is disabled.

gpw797
Posts: 150
Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby gpw797 » 22 Nov 2011

Order confirmation is off

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8503
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2731 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 23 Nov 2011

Please attach a screenshot of the Symbol Mapping window.
File -> Broker profiles -> Symbol mapping -> Select your broker from the list.
Can this problem be easily reproduced?
Was this strategy trading before?
What has changed in MultiCharts setup?

gpw797
Posts: 150
Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby gpw797 » 23 Nov 2011

Attached is symbol mapping as requested - setting are per MC forum recommendation


Can this problem be easily reproduced? >> no.. sometimes strategy execute orders like it should other times it does not.
Was this strategy trading before? Yes
What has changed in MultiCharts setup? Nothing
Attachments
11-23-11-symbols.png
11-23-11-symbols.png (121.02 KiB) Viewed 533 times

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8503
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2731 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 23 Nov 2011

Orders can be rejected because of IB TWS popup window.
Please make sure that MultiCharts IP (File->Broker profiles->Manage->IB->Settings) is added to the trusted IPs in TWS->Configure->API->Settings and there are no popup messages of TWS that prevent MC from trading.
If you still have the issue-please come to our live chat Monday-Friday 6:30 am - 4 pm EST.
We will do our best to help you.

gpw797
Posts: 150
Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby gpw797 » 28 Nov 2011

IP settings were at recommended setting and I don't believe any pop up windows were happening. I could come to chat but I am afraid all we could do is sit and watch for an hour waiting for an order to trigger and I can't spare that time today.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8503
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2731 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 28 Nov 2011

You can do a video screen capture to make sure there are no popups preventing from trading.

gpw797
Posts: 150
Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby gpw797 » 28 Nov 2011

Just a screen shot of the MC screen???

Today it again didn't place orders. Last beta version MC seemed to work better.. how can I revert to that beta?

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8503
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2731 times

Re: beta 7.2 today didn't place strategy orders

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 29 Nov 2011

If you have not restarted MC after reproducing the issue-please send us MultiCharts logs, Orders and Logs tabs exported from Order and position tracker window.
Here's how to find the logs:
1)You can find log files here "%USERPROFILE%\Local Settings\Application
Data\TS Support\MultiCharts\".
You should paste this line in Start --> Run and in the window that will pop
up make a zip-folder.
or
2) please click on the Windows Start button-> Programs -> MultiCharts ->
make a right click on Logs-> then click on Properties.
Go to the Shortcut tab and click on "Open file location".
In the appeared window please compress to Zip folder called "Logs".
Send this archive to us and we will analyze it.

If you able to demonstrate the issue -please come to our live chat Monday-Friday 6:30 am - 4 pm EST.
We will do our best to help you.


Return to “MultiCharts”