currenttime or time?

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
stonebrook2011
Posts: 11
Joined: 30 Dec 2011
Has thanked: 1 time

currenttime or time?

Postby stonebrook2011 » 04 Jan 2012

Hi,
I want to "turn on" my auto-trading strategy right at 10AM to avoid market opening effect.Which EL command should I use? Currenttime or Time or other commands? I assume the code should look like this:

If CurrentTime (or Time) > 1000 Then Begin
XXXXXXXXXXXXX
End;


I am not sure what is the difference between Currenttime and time in EL and MC, or maybe there is better way to do this.

Thanks a lot

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6571
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1899 times

Re: currenttime or time?

Postby TJ » 04 Jan 2012

stonebrook2011 wrote:Hi,
I want to "turn on" my auto-trading strategy right at 10AM to avoid market opening effect.Which EL command should I use? Currenttime or Time or other commands? I assume the code should look like this:

If CurrentTime (or Time) > 1000 Then Begin
XXXXXXXXXXXXX
End;


I am not sure what is the difference between Currenttime and time in EL and MC, or maybe there is better way to do this.

Thanks a lot


Which one to use depends on your location time zone, exchange time zone, and your chart time zone settings.


CURRENTTIME is your computer's clock time.

TIME is the chart's bar ending time.
It can be independent of the computer's clock time.


If you are in New York, trading eminis from CME in Chicago,
your computer time will be in ET,
your chart time can be set to local (ie. ET), or exchange time, which is CT.
These users thanked the author TJ for the post:
JoshM


Return to “MultiCharts”