Restore Application

From MultiCharts
Revision as of 10:19, 7 July 2017 by Kristina (Talk | contribs) (Created page with "Starting from '''MultiCharts 11 Beta 1 version''' Restore application will help you to restore MultiCharts settings and user data from a backup file. To launch Data Restore,...")

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Starting from MultiCharts 11 Beta 1 version Restore application will help you to restore MultiCharts settings and user data from a backup file.

To launch Data Restore, it’s necessary to close MultiCharts and make sure no MultiCharts processes are running in Task Manager.

For Windows Vista/Windows 7/ Windows XP

  1. Click Windows Start button
  2. Click All Programs
  3. Select the folder with your MultiCharts version:
    For 32-bit regular MultiCharts open MultiCharts folder
    For 64-bit regular MultiCharts open MultiCharts64 folder
    For 32-bit MultiCharts.Net open MultiCharts.Net folder
    For 64-bit MultiCharts.Net open MultiCharts.Net64 folder
  4. Click Restore

For Windows 8/Windows 10

  1. For 32-bit MultiCharts open the following folder by typing: C:\Program Files (x86)\TS Support\MultiCharts
    For 64-bit MultiCharts open the following folder by typing: C:\Program Files\TS Support\MultiCharts64
    For 32-bit MultiCharts.Net open the following folder by typing: C:\Program Files (x86)\TS Support\MultiCharts.NET
    For 64-bit MultiCharts.Net open the following folder by typing: C:\Program Files\TS Support\MultiCharts.NET64
  2. Click Restore
Note: In case MultiCharts or any MultiCharts applications are running when you start Restore you will see the following alert message: MultiCharts Restore cannot be started now as MultiCharts processes are currently running. Please close all MultiCharts processes and restart the MultiCharts Restore.

When MultiCharts Restore application is launched you need to select the backup file which you want to restore data from.

In Contents section, you will see date and time when the backup archive was created; archive version and current MultiCharts version you are trying to restore the data to; whether data can be restored or not: the possible options are “Yes” and “Partially”. If you see “Yes” in “Can be Restored” field, it means the data can be fully restored to the current version of MultiCharts that you selected. If you see “Partially” in “Can be Restored” field, it means that some data cannot be restored to the version of MultiCharts that you selected. You will see which settings cannot be restored under Application Settings, you will see “No” under data that cannot be restored.

To see all restore options click Show Restore Options button.

  1. Check / uncheck the Application Settings checkbox if you want to restore the window layout settings, hotkeys, commissions, MultiCharts preferences, automated and manual trading settings and the data storage options in QuoteManager.
  2. Check / uncheck the Instrument List and Settings checkbox if you want to restore the list of instruments, the instrument settings and Symbol Dictionary. Enabling this option does not restore the data of the instruments. To restore the instrument data please mark the «Instrument Data» checkbox.
  3. Check / uncheck the Instrument Data checkbox if you want to restore the data of all the instruments in QuoteManager.
  4. Check / uncheck the Studies (Functions, Signals and Indicators) checkbox if you want to restore copy your studies. Read-Only studies cannot be restored as they are not backed up.
  5. Check / uncheck the Order & Position Tracker Data checkbox if you want to restore your trading history.
  6. Check / uncheck the Private Authentication Data checkbox if you want to restore the data that may contain personal information such as logins and passwords for broker or data feed connections.
  7. Check / uncheck the Data Feed Settings checkbox if you want to restore the settings of all the data feeds.
  8. Check / uncheck the Broker Profiles checkbox if you want to restore the settings of all the broker profiles.
  9. Check / uncheck the E-mail Alert Settings checkbox if you want to restore the settings to access the E-mail server.
  10. Check / uncheck the Custom Resolution Plugins checkbox to restore Custom Resolution Plugins.
    It is also possible to restore User Data such as workspaces, desktops, portfolio workspaces, studies, etc. The following file types can be restored – mcd, wsp, pws, ors, pln, pla and tml.
  11. Check / uncheck the Desktop checkbox if you want to restore any user data in the following formats: mcd, wsp, pws, ors, pln, pla and tml.

Under Restoration Progress Settings you can select to make a backup of the data that will be overwritten. Click Lookup button Sm8.png to select the folder where the collected files will be located. The file name will be generated automatically. After that click Restore button.

When Restore is complete one will see one of the possible notification messages:

  1. Restore completed successfully. Click this message to view the log.
  2. Restore completed with errors. Click this message to view the log.
  3. Restore failed. Impossible to restore the file. Click this message to run FeedBack.