How can I resent the request for IB history data?

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
raidsan
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Jun 2009

How can I resent the request for IB history data?

Postby raidsan » 09 Jun 2009

For some reason, I lost some bars in the candlestick chart, it still in IB backfill time range, how can I let multicharts to re-backfill the data?

BTW, I don't know how the data cache stored in file.
It seems store in directory:
....\Local Settings\Application Data\TS Support\MultiCharts\Cache
if I re-install my windows system, how can I re-use the cache data?
Is it had any limit? It will truncate old data or not?

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7195
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 990 times
Been thanked: 2049 times

Re: How can I resent the request for IB history data?

Postby TJ » 09 Jun 2009

For some reason, I lost some bars in the candlestick chart, it still in IB backfill time range, how can I let multicharts to re-backfill the data?
control-R

or

View > Reload


it refreshes the chart.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7195
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 990 times
Been thanked: 2049 times

Re: How can I resent the request for IB history data?

Postby TJ » 10 Jun 2009

BTW, I don't know how the data cache stored in file.
It seems store in directory:
....\Local Settings\Application Data\TS Support\MultiCharts\Cache
if I re-install my windows system, how can I re-use the cache data?
Is it had any limit? It will truncate old data or not?
http://www.tssupport.com/support/base/? ... le&id=2028

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 17 Jun 2009

Hi raidsan,

The best way to go about reloading charts is as follows:
Plot a chart for the same symbol spanning a short period containing the gap or bad bars and do a reload (Ctrl+R). After that, go back to your original chart and re-create it (by changing the number of bars slightly or changing the resolution and then returning to the original one). It is particularly important to use this method with tick-based charts because IB can process only so much data every 10 minutes. If your requests exceed this limit you would have to wait.

Regards.

bowlesj3
Posts: 2108
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 201 times
Been thanked: 420 times

Postby bowlesj3 » 18 Jun 2009

or

View > Reload
Thanks TJ. I never noticed this method and Ctrl+R never did work with MC 2.1.999.999 but this method does and it just fixed my daily bars.

raidsan
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Jun 2009

Postby raidsan » 22 Jun 2009

I think the reload process shouldn't clear chart cache first. Just keep the old data, and wait the new data comming, then merge the new data to exists data.

raidsan
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Jun 2009

Postby raidsan » 22 Jun 2009

It will delay so much when switch resolution, this should effect trading.
I expect not switch resolution when trading, but the drawing object can't share between charts with same symbol and different resolution.
for important drawing object, I want to draw it on 1 minute even 15 second chart.

the functions what I expect:
1. add some method to share object between charts, need not do swtich resolution.
except the data reload delay, the indicator recalculate will spend time too.

2. the data integrity and Availability should be guarantee on QuoteManager data service layer. when restart or server pause, it automate do data backfilling according to exchange's time setting, don't wait user open charts to view, it could cause slow response.


Return to “MultiCharts”