input parameter preservation mishandling  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
cnbiz850
Posts: 33
Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

input parameter preservation mishandling

Postby cnbiz850 » 07 Nov 2012

I am using version 7.4.

A few different ways of handling cause some headache.

1) After the recompile of the code (even with a change of the default parameter values), the parameters of the indicator or signal on the chart remain the same as before. This perhaps is not a big deal and can be accepted.

2) After the parameters were reordered in the code, the values of those on the chart are all mixed up. This should be treated as a bug.

3) After the recompile of the code (even with no change to the default parameters), the optimazation interface adopts the values of the recompile code rather than those on the chart. For consistency, parameters on optimazation interface should go with those on the chart.

4) After a set of parameters were accepted after an optimization, the interface at the next optimization (without recompile of the code in between) still keeps the range settings from the last optimization. For ease of operation, all ranges should be reset and the values should be taken from the chart.

The current way is very inconvenient. I hope my suggestions make sense.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6584
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 970 times
Been thanked: 1907 times

Re: input parameter preservation mishandling

Postby TJ » 07 Nov 2012

cnbiz850 wrote:I am using version 7.4.

A few different ways of handling cause some headache.

1) After the recompile of the code (even with a change of the default parameter values), the parameters of the indicator or signal on the chart remain the same as before. This perhaps is not a big deal and can be accepted.
...
The current way is very inconvenient. I hope my suggestions make sense.

We do not want any chart parameter values to change after recompilation.
We have the same indicators applied to different charts, of different resolution, with different settings.
If a recompilation changes the parameters, then all the charts will lose their set values.
It will be a nightmare to re-adjust all the charts back to their desired settings.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6584
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 970 times
Been thanked: 1907 times

Re: input parameter preservation mishandling

Postby TJ » 07 Nov 2012

If you want to set all the charts to new input parameter values,
you can use this trick:

Change the parameters' name from lower case to uppercase, then recompile.

All the charts' parameters will adopt the new values.
These users thanked the author TJ for the post:
JoshM

cnbiz850
Posts: 33
Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: input parameter preservation mishandling

Postby cnbiz850 » 07 Nov 2012

TJ wrote:If you want to set all the charts to new input parameter values,
you can use this trick:

Change the parameters' name from lower case to uppercase, then recompile.

All the charts' parameters will adopt the new values.


OK, that is my preference as well. The issues are with cases 2) to 4).

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6584
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 970 times
Been thanked: 1907 times

Re: input parameter preservation mishandling  [SOLVED]

Postby TJ » 07 Nov 2012

cnbiz850 wrote:I am using version 7.4.

A few different ways of handling cause some headache.
...
2) After the parameters were reordered in the code, the values of those on the chart are all mixed up. This should be treated as a bug.
...
The current way is very inconvenient. I hope my suggestions make sense.

You have to remove the indicator from the chart and re-apply it.

or upgrade to MultiCharts version 8


Return to “MultiCharts”