Data window blank - do i need to re-start MC during mkt hrs?

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
hilbert
Posts: 222
Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Data window blank - do i need to re-start MC during mkt hrs?

Postby hilbert » 04 Feb 2013

Weird stuff - never saw this before. Pls see attachment.

Clicking on the cursor is showing the bar data as in attached pic, but nothing showing in data window. Ctl+Shft+D removed the data window and again pressing it brought it back - again blank.

Very annoying. Any quick technique/fix for this other than restarting MC during mkt hours?
Attachments
Data Window Blank!!.jpg
Data Window Blank!!.jpg (103.86 KiB) Viewed 291 times

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 557 times

Re: Data window blank - do i need to re-start MC during mkt

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 04 Feb 2013

Hello Hilbert,

Please go to Help -> About MultiCharts -> What is the build number of the software?

hilbert
Posts: 222
Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Data window blank - do i need to re-start MC during mkt

Postby hilbert » 04 Feb 2013

Hi,

Thanks for quick help on this.

Multicharts Version 8.0 Release (Build 5620)

hilbert
Posts: 222
Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Data window blank - do i need to re-start MC during mkt

Postby hilbert » 04 Feb 2013

Andrew MultiCharts wrote:Hello Hilbert,

Please go to Help -> About MultiCharts -> What is the build number of the software?


So, Andrew, could you find any fix yet? Thanks.

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 557 times

Re: Data window blank - do i need to re-start MC during mkt

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 04 Feb 2013

Where is your mouse cursor at the moment you press Ctrl+Shift+D?

hilbert
Posts: 222
Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Data window blank - do i need to re-start MC during mkt

Postby hilbert » 04 Feb 2013

Andrew MultiCharts wrote:Where is your mouse cursor at the moment you press Ctrl+Shift+D?


Andrew,

So, I just tried it again putting my mouse cursor at different places while pressing Ctl+Shft+D and still data window doesn't show.

Specifically, I tried 3 places:
1) I put my mouse cursor on a chart window to select the chart
2) I put the mouse cursor on a workspace tab in the bottom of MC window
3) I put the mouse cursor on top menu of Multicharts window.

Every time, data window disappears and then on pressing Ctlr+Shift+D again, it reappears but it always remains blank. Thanks.

sptrader
Posts: 633
Joined: 09 Apr 2010
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 394 times
Been thanked: 236 times
Contact:

Re: Data window blank - do i need to re-start MC during mkt

Postby sptrader » 04 Feb 2013

Hilbert: load a chart, then the "help" icon will be visible at the top of the window..left click on the "help" icon and select "about Multicharts", the build number will then be visible..

hilbert
Posts: 222
Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Data window blank - do i need to re-start MC during mkt

Postby hilbert » 04 Feb 2013

sptrader wrote:Hilbert: load a chart, then the "help" icon will be visible at the top of the window..left click on the "help" icon and select "about Multicharts", the build number will then be visible..


Hey sptrader,

Seems you missed one of my posts above in the thread. I already mentioned:

Multicharts Version 8.0 Release (Build 5620).

Thanks :)
These users thanked the author hilbert for the post:
sptrader

hilbert
Posts: 222
Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Data window blank - do i need to re-start MC during mkt

Postby hilbert » 04 Feb 2013

I got the issue resolved after some experimentation post market close. I went to view->Show DOM window and then DOM window came up. After I closed the DOM window, beneath the DOM window, there was the Data window and now it was showing all the relevant data.

So, I guess it was some kind of stack overflow (whatever that means) or graphics memory kind of issue. It got resolved after some DOM window showed up on that space.

Following might be relevant to this issue:
On Friday, I setup a new workspace with 8 charts with 5 indicators and 1 strategy each - all with custom futures contracts going back 3 years. It is a well-known fact that MC takes a lot of time to calculate and display custom futures contracts. I have a feeling that this 640kb workspace somehow caused MC some memory issue when it was loading up. Another thing that happened when this workspace was getting loaded was that my multicharts had freezed for about 2 minutes.

So, now the problem has been resolved however my feeling is that it was caused due to these custom futures. I am curious why it is so resource intensive for MC to plot custom futures?

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 557 times

Re: Data window blank - do i need to re-start MC during mkt

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 06 Feb 2013

Hilbert, could you send me (ashuvlenov@multicharts.com) your workspace, exported scripts from PLE that are used on the workspace and exported custom futures from QM (note: please export exactly the custom futures with data, then all individual contracts used for their construction will be taken too)?


Return to “MultiCharts”