Where Are the Kase Bars?

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
RickAce

Where Are the Kase Bars?

Postby RickAce » 16 Apr 2013

I am new to MultiCharts ~ is there anyway to have Kase Bars as a bar type?

I have been unable to find...

TJ

Re: Where Are the Kase Bars?

Postby TJ » 16 Apr 2013

I am new to MultiCharts ~ is there anyway to have Kase Bars as a bar type?

I have been unable to find...
Kase bars = range bars.

RickAce

Postby RickAce » 17 Apr 2013

TJ, thanks for the reply... is there any documentation to this fact? Coming from TS Range Bars and Kase bars are handled differently.

Rick

Henry MultiСharts

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 17 Apr 2013

"Point" and “Point Original” resolution chart types were described here.

MAtricks

Postby MAtricks » 17 Apr 2013

No need for Kase bars. Multicharts builds their Range Bars (point bars) correctly.

RickAce

Postby RickAce » 18 Apr 2013

No need for Kase bars. Multicharts builds their Range Bars (point bars) correctly.
MAtricks... can you elaborate on your statement? Are the range bars constructed identically to Kase bars?

MAtricks

Postby MAtricks » 18 Apr 2013

The only reason why TS constructed Kase bars is because their range bars are silly and inaccurate. They fill in gaps with "filler bars" that have no actual price behind them, the open is the same tick as the previous close, and they disregard sessions. In tests, they're great, in real time, they're junk.

RickAce

Postby RickAce » 25 Mar 2014

I am still looking for "Kase Bars"... would it be possible to add this myself by coding?

TJ and MATricks:

Kase bars are similar to range bars, except they use a true range instead of the range of the current bar, and they only use real data (gaps are not filled).

MultiCharts, is there a way for me to code my own "Kase Bars" (you would become my chart platform)?

Henry MultiСharts

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 25 Mar 2014

Hello RickAce,