IB AutoTrading: Brief Manual

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

IB AutoTrading: Brief Manual

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 05 Feb 2007

1. Run TWS.
2. Under menu select Configure then click API. Make sure Enable ActiveX and Socket Clients is checked otherwise check it.
3. Under menu select Configure then click API. Make sure Fire openOrder on status' change is checked otherwise check it.
4. Go to MultiCharts.
5. Apply a strategy to a chart.
6. Access Format Objects window.
7. Select Signals tab.
8. Click Properties.
9. Select Auto Trading tab.
10. Check Automate order execution.
11. In the confirmation window appeared carefully read the agreement and click Yes if accepted.
12. Check Require order confirmation for manual order execution.
13. Uncheck Require order confirmation for automatic order execution.
14. In the Audio Alert area set audio alerts if required.
15. In case the chart symbol is an IB symbol (add via Add Symbol From DataSource) skip to Step 19.
16. In case the chart symbol is not an IB symbol - click Settings.
17. Select Symbol Dictionary tab.
18. Click Add and set properties for IB symbol to execute orders with (according to TWS settings, take a look at screenshot).
19. Click OK.

Important. Currently all the Limit orders will be placed as Market orders. It means that several points slippage is possible. Limit orders functionality will be added later.

Note. For all IB symbols quoted in currencies other than USD it is required to set up Symbol Dictionary (just click Add and set proper currency). Later this will be automated.
Attachments
SymDict.PNG
SymDict.PNG (86.36 KiB) Viewed 1364 times
Last edited by Andrew Kirillov on 19 Sep 2007, edited 3 times in total.

Guest

Re: IB AutoTrading: Brief Manual

Postby Guest » 22 Feb 2007

1. Run TWS.
2. Under menu select Configure then click API. Make sure Enable ActiveX and Socket Clients is checked otherwise check it.
3. Under menu select Configure then click API. Make sure Fire openOrder on status' change is checked otherwise check it.
4. Go to MultiCharts.
5. Apply a strategy to a chart.
6. Access Format Objects window.
7. Select Signals tab.
8. Click Properties.
9. Select IB Auto Trading tab.
10. Check Automate order execution.
11. In the confirmation window appeared carefully read the agreement and click Yes if accepted.
12. Check Require order confirmation for manual order execution.
13. Uncheck Require order confirmation for automatic order execution.
14. In the Audio Alert area set audio alerts if required.
15. In case the chart symbol is an IB symbol (add via Add Symbol From DataSource) skip to Step 18.
16. In case the chart symbol is not an IB symbol select Symbol Dictionary tab.
17. Click Add and set properties for IB symbol to execute orders with (according to TWS settings, take a look at screenshot).
18. Click OK.

Note. For all IB symbols quoted in currencies other than USD it is required to set up Symbol Dictionary (just click Add and set proper currency). Later this will be automated.



Why is TWSservice running on my computer when I am not using IB?

J~

User avatar
Stanley Miller
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 3 times

Postby Stanley Miller » 22 Feb 2007

TWSService is a process of MultiCharts which is running along with the other processes independently on TWS.

alpha
Posts: 27
Joined: 23 Feb 2007

Postby alpha » 05 Mar 2007

Andrew, don't you think its important to add a disclosure about order treatment when in AUTO TRADE to IB mode? What about adding and HIGHLIGHTING to the very brief manual that -

a) Multi Charts cannot place Limit orders (yet)
b) Limit orders will be placed as market orders by IB
c) It is unlikely that fills will match your graph.
d) Expect 1-2 points slippage

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 10 Mar 2007

Dear alpha,

I added the information to the brief manual as you suggested.

LMT orders are on the priority list and will be implemented soon.

Guest

Postby Guest » 01 May 2007

When can Multi Charts place Limit orders ?
I need right now.

Carrera
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 Apr 2007

Postby Carrera » 07 May 2007

Hi Andrew,

When are you going to release completed software?
I did not know that a limit order was not possible.
Let me know ASAP!

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 12 May 2007

Dear Sir,

When are you going to release completed software?

Later this year. We do not have exact ETA.


I did not know that a limit order was not possible.

In the nearest future we will release a special add-on that will enable you to handle your orders from the script, i.e. to place stop and limit orders from PowerLanguage, control market positions and receive feedback.

Check Kate's replies:
http://forum.tssupport.com/viewtopic.php?t=3611
http://forum.tssupport.com/viewtopic.php?t=3598

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby 2haerim » 08 Jun 2007

15. In case the chart symbol is an IB symbol (add via Add Symbol From DataSource) skip to Step 18.
16. In case the chart symbol is not an IB symbol select Symbol Dictionary tab.
17. Click Add and set properties for IB symbol to execute orders with (according to TWS settings, take a look at screenshot).
18. Click OK.


I tried both IB symbol and non-IB symbol, but steps 15-17 don't seem to be correct. There was no Add button for non-IB symbol, and even for IB symbol, the Symbol Dictionary does not show any symbols at all.

Am I missing something?

HR

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 18 Jun 2007

Dear 2haerim,

Could you show me a screenshot of the problem?

guest

Postby guest » 04 Jul 2007

i am having the same problem. i don't have a add button. the only buttons are OK and Cancel.

maxpi
Posts: 58
Joined: 03 Jun 2007

Postby maxpi » 16 Jul 2007

"In the nearest future we will release a special add-on that will enable you to handle your orders from the script, i.e. to place stop and limit orders from PowerLanguage, control market positions and receive feedback"


Is there an updated ETA on this?? Would this work with an indicator set to update every tick and allow intrabar order generation?

Max

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 17 Jul 2007

Max,
Yes it will work with indicators as well. ETA is some time after MultiCharts 2.1 has been released.

Guest

Postby Guest » 18 Jul 2007

I downloaded the latest beta that was released on 7/18. I still don't have an "Add" button under Symbol Dictionary?

When I installed the new beta, I could only choose between "Repair" and remove Multicharts. I chose repair. Under "About Multicharts", my version still says 2.1.880.530.

Can someone tell me what's wrong?

Guest

Postby Guest » 18 Jul 2007

Oh, just in case this matters. I am using Windows Vista.

Guest

Postby Guest » 18 Jul 2007

When I installed the new beta, I could only choose between "Repair" and remove Multicharts. I chose repair. Under "About Multicharts", my version still says 2.1.880.530.

Can someone tell me what's wrong?

repair means to fix what you have.

you should uninstall what you have, then run the install program.

Guest

Postby Guest » 19 Jul 2007

will it delete all my indicators and signals?

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 15 Aug 2007

will it delete all my indicators and signals?


When you uninstall the old version you will be offerend an option "Remove MultiCharts user data from computer". If this field is left unchecked all your data will be saved - including indicators and signals. Once the new version is installed you will need to recompile them.

momentum
Posts: 315
Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Orders

Postby momentum » 13 Nov 2007

Are LIMIT and STOP and STOP LIMIT orders supported?

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 14 Nov 2007

Hi momentum,

Limit and Stop orders will be implemented by the end of 2007.

Regards.

Carrera
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 Apr 2007

Current Status of Limit and Stop orders

Postby Carrera » 07 Jan 2008

Please let me know the current status of Limit and Stop orders ASAP.

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 09 Jan 2008

Hi Carrera,

We are going to release the beta version that would support Stop and Limit orders by the end of January.

Regards.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6572
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1901 times

Postby TJ » 09 Jan 2008

If I have 2 TWS open, the first one being my cash account, the 2nd one a papertrading account.

Can I direct my autotrade to the papertrading account only?

Of course this is done for testing purposes.

Can you give detailed instruction on how to configure MC to do that?

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 10 Jan 2008

Hi TJ,

We have never tested this scenario before, so we do not have any definitive answer to your question so far. In theory, MultiCharts won't be able to differentiate between the 2 TWS.

Regards.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6572
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1901 times

Postby TJ » 10 Jan 2008

Marina:

It is ok even if I do not have the ability to assign which TWS to connect to, I do need to find out how (what mechanism) MC uses to latch on to TWS.

Does MC take the TWS that was started first?

Is there a port number or something that assigns to MC?

Appreciate if you can find out.

Thanks
TJ

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 10 Jan 2008

Hello again TJ,

To get connected to TWS, MultiCharts uses Server IP Address and Port (you can see these settings in QuoteManager -> Tools -> Data Sources -> Interactive Brokers -> Settings.

Regards.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6572
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1901 times

Postby TJ » 10 Jan 2008

thanks Marina for the speedy reply.

Carrera
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 Apr 2007

Postby Carrera » 08 Feb 2008

Hi Marina,

Did you release the beta version ?

Thanks,

giles117
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Jun 2007

Postby giles117 » 27 Feb 2008

I have an issue where I run TWS on a separate computer and MC claims it cant connect, though I am fine with pulling in data and quotes.

How can we rectify this without TWS running on the SAME computer as MC.

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 29 Feb 2008

Giles117,
Since you can get data without problems you do have physical connection.
As far as I understand you have a problem with order routing. Right?
So I assume the MC messages simply misinform you. I feel something is wrong with a symbol name. Could you send me screenshots of the error messages, your chart window and auto-trading dictionary tab? If I'm not mistaken we had the same issue before and easily resolved it.
Thank you.


Return to “MultiCharts”