Multi-Data Chart Problem

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Gann_Man
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Multi-Data Chart Problem

Postby Gann_Man » 27 Aug 2007

Moving Average in Subchart #1 is based on Data2
Moving Average in Subchart #2 is based on Data2

Moving Average is constant in Subchart #2 (anchored to price as it should be)
Moving Average is NOT constant in Subchart #1 (it floats up & down as time is scrolled)

This is only a visual problem, the Moving Average values seem to match up.
Attachments
Multi-Data Chart Problem.png
Multi-Data Chart Problem.png (51.23 KiB) Viewed 224 times

Guest

Postby Guest » 27 Aug 2007

Did you set at "Scaling" -> "Scale Type" -> Same as Symbol?

Gann_Man
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby Gann_Man » 27 Aug 2007

Did you set at "Scaling" -> "Scale Type" -> Same as Symbol?


Yes

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6551
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 966 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Postby TJ » 27 Aug 2007

on the MA, check "Last Price Marker".

YOu will see the MA is using a different scale than the price bar.

YOu have to fix the price bar scale, then fix the MA scale on top of it.


p.s. the scale to symbol does not help, because you are using data 2 on chart 1.

Gann_Man
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby Gann_Man » 27 Aug 2007

on the MA, check "Last Price Marker".

YOu will see the MA is using a different scale than the price bar.

YOu have to fix the price bar scale, then fix the MA scale on top of it.


p.s. the scale to symbol does not help, because you are using data 2 on chart 1.


"Last Price Marker" was checked.

MA should NOT use a different scale than the price bar.

"YOu have to fix the price bar scale, then fix the MA scale on top of it." (please explain how to do this)

Gann_Man
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby Gann_Man » 27 Aug 2007

It should not be necessary or required to set scaling to 'user defined' values for Subchart #1 to plot a MA of Data2.

It appears the MA line in Subchart #1 is tied to scaling not price.
MA lines should always be tied to price not scaling.

Subchart #1 is returning the correct value for Data2 the problem is the MA line is not being plotted to screeen correctly.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6551
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 966 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Postby TJ » 27 Aug 2007

one way you can do this is to overlay a 5m chart on the 1min chart. Set the 5m chart to appear invisible. Plot the 5m MA and the MA will ride on the 1m chart correctly.

Gann_Man
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby Gann_Man » 27 Aug 2007

one way you can do this is to overlay a 5m chart on the 1min chart. Set the 5m chart to appear invisible. Plot the 5m MA and the MA will ride on the 1m chart correctly.


Thank you TJ!
With that type of chart setup the MA is now plotting correctly.

Question to MC Staff:
Do you consider this solution a workaround or should the MA also plot correctly with my initial chart setup?

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6551
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 966 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Postby TJ » 27 Aug 2007

one other thing you should check with your "old" method. (i.e. without the 5m overlay)

Check the "Scaling" of the 1m chart and the scaling of the 5m-MA. Make sure they have the same Top Margins and same Bottom Margins.

Gann_Man
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby Gann_Man » 27 Aug 2007

one other thing you should check with your "old" method. (i.e. without the 5m overlay)

Check the "Scaling" of the 1m chart and the scaling of the 5m-MA. Make sure they have the same Top Margins and same Bottom Margins.


Yes, they are the same.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6551
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 966 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Postby TJ » 27 Aug 2007

one other thing you should check with your "old" method. (i.e. without the 5m overlay)

Check the "Scaling" of the 1m chart and the scaling of the 5m-MA. Make sure they have the same Top Margins and same Bottom Margins.


I gave this a thought again... no, it won't work. Because the 5m-MA will maximize its range within the available screen space.

The 5m bar chart has the same HL as the 1min chart, thus with the loverlay, the 5m-MA will ride on the 1m chart properly.



I am glad the overlay solution works for you.
The overlay will use up additional memory, and add a small penalty to the CPU. But with today's powerful computer, you won't notice a difference.


Return to “MultiCharts”