How and when MC uses multi-cpus?

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

How and when MC uses multi-cpus?

Postby 2haerim » 09 Jan 2008

Marina,

Can you please describe for what activies MC utilizes multi CPUs?

At least I know optimization job uses multicpu very well to produce at most 350% comparing single cpu.

But what other activities's performaces are increased when using multicpus?

Does it speed up the calcuation of indicators and/or signals compared to single cpu? If so, how much and how can I best use the multicpu H/Ws.

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 10 Jan 2008

Hi HaeRim,

Multiple cores are used for optimization and for calculation of indicators when those are applied to different charts.

Regards

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6551
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 966 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Postby TJ » 10 Jan 2008

are you saying each chart will only use one core?

multi-core will be useful only if I have more than one chart.

(of course, I don't see any user would use only one chart)

brodnicki steven
Posts: 407
Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby brodnicki steven » 11 Jan 2008

Hi HaeRim,

Multiple cores are used for optimization and for calculation of indicators when those are applied to different charts.

Regards


******************************************************
Does it work that way for CPU's that use hyper-threading too ?

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 11 Jan 2008

Hi Steven,

Yes, this applies to hyper-threading as well.

Regards.

jek
Posts: 163
Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby jek » 14 Jan 2008

In my experience, all cores are not completely utilized though support will continue to tell you that you are wrong.

For some reason, they don't seem to be able to reproduce the problem and trying to connect from Russia to a multiple monitor system at busy market open isn't practical at all for them to observe it from afar.

jek
Posts: 163
Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby jek » 14 Jan 2008

See this thread for details of tests and configurations:

http://forum.tssupport.com/viewtopic.php?t=4202

It just isn't practical for them to connect during busy market hours to see the performance issue. It requires too much bandwidth.

For all I know, it is because I use Vista 64-bit and they test with XP or some such.

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 15 Jan 2008

Dear jek,

Multiple cores are used to calculate indicators in parallel.

With multiple screens when large areas of the screen have to be updated those cores won't be used.

To see how MultiCharst distributes the workload between several cores, you can run a simple test: create several smaller screens and apply lots of indicators to each.


Return to “MultiCharts”