Trade Through Lines

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
LA901

Trade Through Lines

Postby LA901 » 19 Dec 2014

I'm new to MC and being an intraday FX trader I mostly have to make quick decisions as to entry and SL for a trade.

My lot size is calculated according to the GBP I'm willing to risk on the trade i.e. it is directly related to my entry and SL.

I do not have time to plug in the details of entry, SL, risk, account balance into a position size calculator to calculate the required lot size. Hence in the past I have used 3rd party scripts (MT4 platform) to achieve this which work by dragging lines on a chart to my required entry, SL, TP, specifying the required risk (normally preset) and order type (market, limit, stop) in an on chart GUI and hitting submit and orders are placed.

This is my very crude attempt at trying to re-create this for MC (limit orders only at present). Bare with me, I have zero coding experience of any kind so this signal has been put together just from using this forum and the wiki as reference - learning by doing more than anything.

I have a few specific questions:

1. I prefer to use account balance over equity but couldn't find a reserved word for this?

2. As you can see the extent of my comparison statements is pretty much limited to If statements! At the moment you have to make sure that the entry TL is black and has ID 1 etc what would be better is if the TL can be any ID but the only requirement is the colour is black - i.e. the signal searches the TL's for colour and stores the ID and associated values. I figured out (well found the code somewhere else) how to do this for one using this:

Code: Select all

Value1 = TL_GetFirst(7) ;
if TL_GetColor(Value1)= Black then
Value2 = TL_GetValue(Value1, Date, Time )
Else
While Value2 = 0 begin
Value1 = TL_GetNext(Value1, 7) ;
if TL_GetColor(Value1)= Black then
Value2 = TL_GetValue(Value1, Date, Time );
end;