LAG IN 1 TICK CHART

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
ppan
Posts: 106
Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Has thanked: 2 times

LAG IN 1 TICK CHART

Postby ppan » 01 Sep 2008

The updating speed of 1 tick chart is slower than the quote. There is no such problem in NT Trader chart.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6550
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 965 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Postby TJ » 01 Sep 2008

..
Last edited by TJ on 01 Sep 2008, edited 1 time in total.

ppan
Posts: 106
Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Has thanked: 2 times

Postby ppan » 01 Sep 2008

Using MC 4.0 with IB. I run the MC and NT together with the same symbol in the same computer. The tick chart of MC is slower than NT.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6550
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 965 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Postby TJ » 01 Sep 2008

..
Last edited by TJ on 01 Sep 2008, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6550
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 965 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Postby TJ » 01 Sep 2008

..
Last edited by TJ on 01 Sep 2008, edited 1 time in total.

ppan
Posts: 106
Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Has thanked: 2 times

Postby ppan » 01 Sep 2008

I use the MC 4.0 beta 1 (build 1440) and NT 6.5. The 2 programs are installed in the same computer and connected to the same IB data feed at the same time. I'm using a Q6600 cpu with 4G RAM so I think the computer speed is fast enough. Both plot a 1 tick chart in real time. I use the Camtasia Studio 5 to record the screen. The updating speed of the MC tick chart is slower than the IB quote. There is not such problem for the NT tick chart, the updating speed is the same as IB quote.

p.s.
under the Format Symbol > Settings,
The Tick Counts is set to 1 for MC.

Nick
Posts: 490
Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Postby Nick » 02 Sep 2008

I notice this with version 3.0 also. It seems to be to do with rasterisation and display of the bar (well thats my hunch)

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 03 Sep 2008

I use the MC 4.0 beta 1 (build 1440) and NT 6.5. The 2 programs are installed in the same computer and connected to the same IB data feed at the same time. I'm using a Q6600 cpu with 4G RAM so I think the computer speed is fast enough. Both plot a 1 tick chart in real time. I use the Camtasia Studio 5 to record the screen. The updating speed of the MC tick chart is slower than the IB quote. There is not such problem for the NT tick chart, the updating speed is the same as IB quote.

p.s.
under the Format Symbol > Settings,
The Tick Counts is set to 1 for MC.


Hi ppan,

Could you please post your video here? Or at least give us the symbol name so that we could run tests locally.

Thank you.


Return to “MultiCharts”