using the scanner with eod data

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Kaos
Posts: 64
Joined: 01 Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Been thanked: 5 times

using the scanner with eod data

Postby Kaos » 06 Oct 2008

i know i raised this in the scanner post but being a sticky thread - maybe no one saw it

---------------------------------------------------------------

I know the scanner window title bar says Real Time Scanner but does it work with EOD metastock data?

I ask because I added in the Dow Jones Index and the high and low do not show. I didn't see any fields for Open or Close

The default scanner ADX indicator shows different results to the indicator on the chart (yes both have identical settings)

The default scanner Average True Range indicator shows same results to the indicator on the chart (yes both have identical settings)

I added a Slow Stochastic to the Scanner and Chart with identical default settings and the scanner and chart have different results for the indicator numbers --- but both show the 80 / 20 overbought/oversold inputs correctly

------------------------------

Also is there anyway to increase the font of the scanner cells?


---------------------------------------

Are there any plans for an equivalent of the eod TS workspace assistant scanner or metastock explorer scanner as the current scanner is more of a watchlist type feature

Regards,
Paul

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Re: using the scanner with eod data

Postby Marina Pashkova » 10 Oct 2008

Hi Paul,

I know the scanner window title bar says Real Time Scanner but does it work with EOD metastock data?

I ask because I added in the Dow Jones Index and the high and low do not show. I didn't see any fields for Open or Close


Try plotting this data on a chart and see if those values are shown in the chart's status line. The thing is that those values in scanner are taken from the same source that the status line takes them from. However, if you can see those values in the status line for those symbols but not in the scanner, this is bug.

The default scanner ADX indicator shows different results to the indicator on the chart (yes both have identical settings)


This is because ADX in the scanner and ADX on your chart are calculated on the different number of bars. If you use the default ADX indicator in the scanner with the length=14 the scanner will load 20 bars for calculation. To run an accurate test, you would need to plot 20 bars back on your chart as well. Of course, the ADX length should be =14 as well. The values should be the same in this scenario.

The default scanner Average True Range indicator shows same results to the indicator on the chart (yes both have identical settings)


This is because Average True Range is calculated on the current bar only (it doesn't reference history). In this case, even if you have a different number of bars on the chart compared to the number of quotes loaded into the scanner, the results will be the same (unlike in the case with ADX)

I added a Slow Stochastic to the Scanner and Chart with identical default settings and the scanner and chart have different results for the indicator numbers --- but both show the 80 / 20 overbought/oversold inputs correctly


The explanation for the difference in indicator values is the same. As for the input values that are shown, these values are not calculated they are specified by the user. They are shown as they are in the indicator settings.

Also is there anyway to increase the font of the scanner cells?


In the current version of the scanner, the font size can only be changed through the system settings of your operation system. Of course, in this case, the font size of all the system windows will change.

In future, we are going to make it possible to change the font size/colour directly in the scanner.

Are there any plans for an equivalent of the eod TS workspace assistant scanner or metastock explorer scanner as the current scanner is more of a watchlist type feature


Paul, I am afraid we don't know much about the above feature. Could you please give details?

Thank you.

drwar
Posts: 218
Joined: 31 Jul 2005

Re: using the scanner with eod data

Postby drwar » 24 Oct 2008

Hi Paul,

The default scanner ADX indicator shows different results to the indicator on the chart (yes both have identical settings)

This is because ADX in the scanner and ADX on your chart are calculated on the different number of bars. If you use the default ADX indicator in the scanner with the length=14 the scanner will load 20 bars for calculation. To run an accurate test, you would need to plot 20 bars back on your chart as well. Of course, the ADX length should be =14 as well. The values should be the same in this scenario.

Thank you.


Marina, This comment is meant in a constructive way. Your above explanation was very good. BUT , I hope you realize this is exactly what we don't want. You don't change the chart to match the scanner , you need to provide the features in the scanner to be able to make it equivalent to the chart. The purpose of the scanner is to be able to give you an overview of the market without having to load the charts. Its of little value if it can't give us the same accurate information thats on the charts. A good percentage of indicators such as the ADX require a settling time(bars) above and beyond the initial number of bars for the calculation(maxbarsback). The indicator we use requires

1) initial calculation bars,
2) settling bars before we can use the indicator
3) additional number of bars based on the logical results we get.

barsback is also not an accurate usefull measure for us. We can only estimate for each chart symbol and Resolution the number of DAYS back by trial and error visually. Using barsback is very difficult for us even with a chart.

Regardless adjusting the chart to match the scanner is an incorrect view of what is necessary for the scanner to useful with indicators.

J~


Return to “MultiCharts”