Indicator scaling effects chart scaling

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
miltonc4
Posts: 150
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Indicator scaling effects chart scaling

Postby miltonc4 » 25 Nov 2008

Hi Support
The other problem that never seems to get addressed is that the scaling of an indicator in MC directly affects the prices scaling i.e. the price will be compressed to see all plots on the chart.
Any thoughts when this might be fixed
Thanks Milton

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6609
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 971 times
Been thanked: 1912 times

Postby TJ » 25 Nov 2008

This feature has been "promised"...
This is such BASIC thing for a charting program... :-(


pls see my request: (with illustration)
http://www.tssupport.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4468

User avatar
RobotMan
Posts: 375
Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Location: Los Altos, California, USA
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Postby RobotMan » 25 Nov 2008

Hi guys,

I actually like the way it is. I just write my indicators to only "turn on" when the price gets within so many points that I preset as an input. In the ES on a dead day, I can set that for 2 -3 points, and on a wild day I can set it for 10 points. If I always want them on, I just set them for 9999 points. I especially like it for predetermined support and resistance levels.

If the screen never scaled for the indicators that are "on", then I would never see them in time to set targets. Although I suppose if there was an option in "Format Window" for a generic "Indicator Sensitivity Offset" then that would work too.

Just my 2 cents.
Bob Perry
Los Altos, CA
Attachments
IndOffSet.jpg
IndOffSet.jpg (46.68 KiB) Viewed 256 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6609
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 971 times
Been thanked: 1912 times

Postby TJ » 25 Nov 2008

Hi guys,

I actually like the way it is. I just write my indicators to only "turn on" when the price gets within so many points that I preset as an input. In the ES on a dead day, I can set that for 2 -3 points, and on a wild day I can set it for 10 points. If I always want them on, I just set them for 9999 points. I especially like it for predetermined support and resistance levels.

If the screen never scaled for the indicators that are "on", then I would never see them in time to set targets. Although I suppose if there was an option in "Format Window" for a generic "Indicator Sensitivity Offset" then that would work too.

Just my 2 cents.
Bob Perry
Los Altos, CA


Nobody ever said it should be "OFF" all the time.

MC should have an option to allow the chart to scale to price, not just to indicators only.

User avatar
RobotMan
Posts: 375
Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Location: Los Altos, California, USA
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Postby RobotMan » 25 Nov 2008

Hi TJ,

MC should have an option to allow the chart to scale to price, not just to indicators only.

That would work. You could keep the checkmark on and maybe set a upper and lower margin amount and I would keep the checkmark off.

Bob Perry
Los Altos, CA

User avatar
ABC
Posts: 529
Joined: 16 Dec 2006
Has thanked: 112 times
Been thanked: 296 times
Contact:

Postby ABC » 25 Nov 2008

RobotMan,

it should have an option to either switch it on and off per chart.

Image
Attachments
Screenshot - 25.11.2008 , 19_27_17.png
Screenshot - 25.11.2008 , 19_27_17.png (22.14 KiB) Viewed 248 times

User avatar
RobotMan
Posts: 375
Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Location: Los Altos, California, USA
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Postby RobotMan » 25 Nov 2008

Hi ABC,

Yes, that looks like the perfect solution.

Bob Perry
Los Altos, CA

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 26 Nov 2008

Hi everybody,

The feature that you are talking about will be available in the upcoming 5.0 beta 3 version.

In addition to that, beta 3 will allow overlaying two symbols with different price scales. Dragging a data series on top of another will not result in a wider price scale.

Finally, it will be possible to define how many points a price scale should have above and below the latest price.

Best regards.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6609
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 971 times
Been thanked: 1912 times

Postby TJ » 26 Nov 2008

whoopi !

miltonc4
Posts: 150
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby miltonc4 » 26 Nov 2008

Excellent
Milton

brodnicki steven
Posts: 407
Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby brodnicki steven » 26 Nov 2008

Hi everybody,

The feature that you are talking about will be available in the upcoming 5.0 beta 3 version.

In addition to that, beta 3 will allow overlaying two symbols with different price scales. Dragging a data series on top of another will not result in a wider price scale.

Finally, it will be possible to define how many points a price scale should have above and below the latest price.

Best regards.


Marina : You said "Finally, it will be possible to define how many points a price scale should have above and below the latest price. "

* Instead of points, maybe what % above or below the last price, might be a better option, since points will change with every tradeable.
p.s.- beta 3 sounds great ! when is it due ?

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 27 Nov 2008

Hi Steven,

At first we wanted to do it with % as well. The problem is that this solution will have its problems as well.

However, we'll consider implementing this type of price scale in future.

Regards.


Return to “MultiCharts”