DRM Failed tonight

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
momentum
Posts: 315
Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

DRM Failed tonight

Postby momentum » 29 Mar 2009

Its 6pm in London and MC failed its DRM test. This is scary as I don't know if I will have my tools to trade Eurex tomorrow. I thought that the system had built in redundancy.

ax
Posts: 34
Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby ax » 29 Mar 2009

Removed
Last edited by ax on 30 Mar 2009, edited 1 time in total.

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby 2haerim » 29 Mar 2009

It seems all users here in Korea suffering the DRM connection failure as shown in the attached picture.

After a few hours the market is open and don't know what to do.

Please fix this immediately.
Attachments
DRM_No_Connection.png
DRM_No_Connection.png (28.95 KiB) Viewed 651 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6571
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1900 times

Postby TJ » 29 Mar 2009

roll back to a non-beta version of MC seems to be the only way out.

brodnicki steven
Posts: 407
Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby brodnicki steven » 29 Mar 2009

Ver 5.2 works (with IB at least).
I think DRM started with Ver 5.3.

User avatar
geizer
Posts: 375
Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Postby geizer » 29 Mar 2009

I'm using v4. It works.
Last edited by geizer on 29 Mar 2009, edited 1 time in total.

ax
Posts: 34
Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby ax » 29 Mar 2009

removed
Last edited by ax on 30 Mar 2009, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6571
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1900 times

Postby TJ » 29 Mar 2009

I am totally disillusioned, I have never tried to run more than one instance of MC. As my livelyhood is now threatened I will consider legal recompense


Why is your livelihood threatened?
Why are you depending your livelihood on a beta?



note: this is not to say I am not concerned, or teed off.
it is 8pm ET and the DRM is still not restored. That means I have to do my roll back now.

:-(



p.s. I thought Andrew said there are redundant DRM servers scattered around the globe in different time zones.

brodnicki steven
Posts: 407
Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby brodnicki steven » 29 Mar 2009

I am totally disillusioned, I have never tried to run more than one instance of MC. As my livelyhood is now threatened I will consider legal recompense


* Just go back to ver 5.2 or earlier.

fs

Postby fs » 29 Mar 2009

I am totally disillusioned, I have never tried to run more than one instance of MC. As my livelyhood is now threatened I will consider legal recompense


You are risking your livelyhood on a beta version, that you fully know might have issues? Really???

I have criticize TSSUpport a lot in the past, but in this case Andrew has stated over and over that this is a beta version and that you should expect issues. If trading is your livelyhood, why on earth would you depend on a beta version for this?

TSSupport did not force anyone to use the latest beta. If anyone use a beta version for your trading, then this is YOUR decision and you have to accept the risk of serious issues.

miltonc4
Posts: 150
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby miltonc4 » 29 Mar 2009

Andrew
Both Sydney and ASX are open and trading,but MCharts still wont authorise
Good luck to the American,European traders who open later today/tonight
Milton

faisalald
Posts: 6
Joined: 07 Feb 2006

DRM

Postby faisalald » 03 Apr 2009

I'm not sure if this has been mentioned before, but instead of authorising Multicharts every time it's loaded, keep a database of users and their activation status.

Basically a user would need to deactivate a version on one pc to activate it on another. Therefor you won't need to continuously check the license and no one will experience the problems at the beginning of the week.

Kind regards,
F

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 03 Apr 2009

I believe you misunderstand how the system works.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6571
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1900 times

Postby TJ » 10 Apr 2009

don't know what is causing this...
hopefully tech support can figure it out before Hong Kong opens.
Attachments
2009-04-11-02.gif
2009-04-11-02.gif (39.55 KiB) Viewed 644 times

User avatar
Geoff
Posts: 198
Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Postby Geoff » 11 Apr 2009

don't know what is causing this...
hopefully tech support can figure it out before Hong Kong opens.


TJ you need to find your registration email and go to Help > Registration to re-enter your licence.

brodnicki steven
Posts: 407
Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby brodnicki steven » 11 Apr 2009

I've noticed that during many upgrades, I've had to re-enter my licence code. Always check it, after moving to a new beta.

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby 2haerim » 11 Apr 2009

I've also experienced DRM failure-success multiple times as shown in the attached picture.

No one would want to see this failure message during market hours.
Attachments
DRM_Failure_Frequent.png
DRM_Failure_Frequent.png (43.36 KiB) Viewed 647 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6571
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1900 times

Postby TJ » 11 Apr 2009

don't know what is causing this...
hopefully tech support can figure it out before Hong Kong opens.

TJ you need to find your registration email and go to Help > Registration to re-enter your licence.


Yes, I have done that.
If you look at the image I have attached, you will see the error message
"...invalid login and/or password...".

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6571
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1900 times

Postby TJ » 11 Apr 2009

false alarm... I think I had mistakenly entered userid into the registration code.

MultiCharts is working once again.

Thank you.

SP
Posts: 444
Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 280 times

Postby SP » 12 Apr 2009

I activated today the Zenfire connection at Data Sources with my NT logins
using C:\Programme\TS Support\MultiCharts\Certs as SSL Path.
Now i have a fiel "Trading Platform by Rithmic" besides the Authorited button

Is that normal?
If i try to make a screenshot the button disappear.

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 13 Apr 2009

I've also experienced DRM failure-success multiple times as shown in the attached picture.

No one would want to see this failure message during market hours.


The message pattern suggests this is a Beta 4 issue. What beta are you using?


Return to “MultiCharts”