Question: VMWARE Virtual MACHINE and MC License

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
tcat
Posts: 166
Joined: 02 Feb 2008
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Question: VMWARE Virtual MACHINE and MC License

Postby tcat » 14 Oct 2009

Hi,
I'm looking to refresh my PC setup using Win7 64 bits. At the same time, I was considering running VMWare virtual machine in order to separate miscallenous apps from trading apps. It also came to my mind that maybe, as everything will be running on the same HW, I could run to separate instance of MC in two environments (1 for ops and 1 for testing, and 1 backup for upgrade).

My questions are:
1) Does anyone have the experience of such a setup?
2) Does MC licensing server support running 2 instances in two environments on the same machine?

Thierry

wegi
Posts: 121
Joined: 02 Jun 2009
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Question: VMWARE Virtual MACHINE and MC License

Postby wegi » 14 Oct 2009

I tested it for you, because i also use vmware to separate trading and development, and i recently refreshed my pc too (re-install XP...)

but i tested only with a new installation of MC and the demo-user.
my mc licence user is currently trading ....

I run MultiCharts on my Host OS (WinXP) and started on this PC a guest OS, also Windows XP, running in VMWare.
Both MultiChats Programms where running with Demo User, but they where running.

In VMware, the guest does not have the same hardware as the host, because its emulated.

But you need two licences of MC to run them on your host and guest at the same time.

tcat
Posts: 166
Joined: 02 Feb 2008
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Postby tcat » 14 Oct 2009

Thanks for your feedback Wegi.


Return to “MultiCharts”