GV Global Variable - Is it posible to have historical plot?

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Spaceant
Posts: 252
Joined: 30 May 2009
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

GV Global Variable - Is it posible to have historical plot?

Postby Spaceant » 15 Oct 2009

Hi there,

I am just starting to use my first GV code in MulitCharts, using MulitCharts' built-in functions - GVSetNamedDouble and GVGetNamedDouble. Codes are as follows:-

{GV Set Volatility Value}
[LegacyColorValue = true];
Inputs:float Length( 14 );
Vars: int SetRtn1(0), float Vo(0);
Vo=Volatility( Length );
SetRtn1=GVSetNamedDouble("Vola",Vo );
Plot1( Vo, "Volatility" ) ;


{GV Get Volatility Value}
[LegacyColorValue = true];
inputs:
float ErrorCode( -1 ) ;
variables:
float RtnVal( 0 ) ;
RtnVal = GVGetNamedDouble("Vola", ErrorCode ) ;
if RtnVal <> ErrorCode then
Plot1( RtnVal, "Volatility" ) ;


I plot the First one in a higher timeframe chart, 5-min chart; while put the Second on the 1-min chart. The Second one did update the numbers according with realtime data, but not on historical plots. IS IT RIGHT? OR Am I missing anything?

If GV code using above functions can't really do historical plot, how could I backtest the code?

Another question: Is there any available GV tools that can be used to do the historical plot and with the ability to let us backtest? .... like ADE with EL Collection?

Could any GV expert comment?

Regards,

Sa

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6572
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1902 times

Postby TJ » 15 Oct 2009

I am no GV expert...

you can't simply backtest GV

you will need to create a database to store calculated values

Spaceant
Posts: 252
Joined: 30 May 2009
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby Spaceant » 15 Oct 2009

I am no GV expert...

you can't simply backtest GV

you will need to create a database to store calculated values


Thanks for your advice. Do you know any links or materials that I can read in order to know how to "create" a database to store calculated values...?

Well, I used to use Metastock in which there is a tools called PowerPivot that can do the historical plotsand there is a GV Dll that do the historical plots as well given that the two databases are the same.... I also know that it is easy to have the historical plot, when one wants to plot a higher timeframe indicators on lower timeframes, using MT.... it appears to be more complicated to do it in MultiCharts / TraderStation.....

Sa

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6572
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1902 times

Postby TJ » 15 Oct 2009

I haven't tried much...

you can take a look at damageboy's example with ADE and ELC
http://forum.tssupport.com/viewtopic.php?t=2484


Return to “MultiCharts”