PLOT something in a study

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Dug
Posts: 31
Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Location: London

PLOT something in a study

Postby Dug » 11 Nov 2009

Hi TJ.
I came across this thread and it confused me a little, and i was wondering if you could help explain something.

under the help for MC it says

I_CLOSEDEQUITY; can only be used in studies.

but if I try to plot something in a study i get the error message

------ Compiled with error(s): ------
Keyword "Plot**" can't been used in this type of study


The only thing i can thing of is that it has to do with calling functions, or indicators from a signal. (if so then my programming ability is not there yet)
Otherwise I am clearly missing something, are you able to help me? thanks.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6552
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 966 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Postby TJ » 11 Nov 2009

You are correct,
you cannot make plots in a function or a strategy (ie signal) .



However drawing objects are available to both:
TL_New
TEXT_New
ARW_New

Dug
Posts: 31
Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Location: London

Postby Dug » 11 Nov 2009

hi TJ, for some reason i must have set up a new thread, instead of replying.
I was trying to reply to the tread that showed this...

wullenweber helmut Nov 5th 2009

{Indicator: Equitycurve 04.11.2009}
var: EQT(0), InitCapital(10000);
EQT = InitCapital + I_CLOSEDEQUITY;
Plot1(EQT,"Net Equity",black,Default,2);


My confusion us that it seems that the I_CLOSEDEQUITY and the Plot cannot be used together, so how does something like this occur. The thread mentions formatting the signal.
thanks.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6552
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 966 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Postby TJ » 11 Nov 2009

you cannot make plot in signal,

and you don't have to use I_CLOSEDEQUITY in a signal.



Wullenweber had the plot in an indicator.


Return to “MultiCharts”