Problem with Study Default

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6552
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 966 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Problem with Study Default

Postby TJ » 12 Sep 2010

I am having problem with the new behavior of Study Default.

Please see the illustration below:

I have a number of charts, for different instruments or different resolutions.
Many of them share the same indicator, but each with a different setting.

Image

The problem:

After a modification and re-compilation of the indicator, all my charts are reverted to the default setting.
I have to go back to every chart to change the dash line or color or thickness again, and again.

This is not the correct behavior.
Please correct this Format Study behavior at the earliest date.
Attachments
default.jpg
default.jpg (61.51 KiB) Viewed 909 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6552
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 966 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Re: Problem with Study Default

Postby TJ » 12 Sep 2010

one solution is to give users a choice of settings.

e.g. set the default as a Global setting, or local setting for this chart only.


Image
Attachments
Format Study.jpg
Format Study.jpg (32.39 KiB) Viewed 975 times

User avatar
Anastassia
Posts: 179
Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Problem with Study Default

Postby Anastassia » 14 Sep 2010

Hi TJ,
Developers were able to reproduce the problem and confirmed it is a bug. Most likely, it will be fixed in 7.0 version of MC.
Thank you for reporting.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6552
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 966 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Re: Problem with Study Default

Postby TJ » 14 Sep 2010

Anastassia wrote:Hi TJ,
Developers were able to reproduce the problem and confirmed it is a bug. Most likely, it will be fixed in 7.0 version of MC.
Thank you for reporting.


Thank you Nastia.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6552
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 966 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Re: Problem with Study Default

Postby TJ » 15 Sep 2010

while you are at the Study Default,
please also fix this bug:

Problem:
When changing the margin default of one study, it changes the default of ALL studies.

Please see illustration below:

Image

Image
Attachments
volume.jpg
volume.jpg (43.74 KiB) Viewed 844 times
macd.jpg
macd.jpg (44.02 KiB) Viewed 853 times

User avatar
Anastassia
Posts: 179
Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Problem with Study Default

Postby Anastassia » 15 Sep 2010

Hi TJ,
It is not a bug. It was designed to work that way.
For each particular technique, only PL settings are saved. The rest of the settings are general.
Thank you

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6552
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 966 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Re: Problem with Study Default

Postby TJ » 15 Sep 2010

Anastassia wrote:Hi TJ,
It is not a bug. It was designed to work that way.
For each particular technique, only PL settings are saved. The rest of the settings are general.
Thank you


This was not the proper behavior.
This was not how the indicator worked before. (a couple generations ago.)

Each indicator has its own defaults.
You cannot have one set of margin for all kinds of indicators.

1. An oscillator that begins with zero and ends at 100 does not need any margin.

2. An indicator that has undetermined high and lows will have margins at both ends.

3. A histogram that goes from zero to an undetermined high will have margin at the top only, but not at them bottom.


This type of default can be saved with each indicator, and it should be so.
This was how MultiCharts behave before!

Please review this expectation with the engineer.

User avatar
Anastassia
Posts: 179
Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Problem with Study Default

Postby Anastassia » 15 Sep 2010

Hi TJ,
The settings from the screenshot are the only ones that get saved for the particular technique in Format Study dialog. I have double checked with developers and they confirmed it was designed to work that way.
Than you
Attachments
test7.bmp
test7.bmp (642.27 KiB) Viewed 688 times


Return to “MultiCharts”