Displaying stop position

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
arjfca
Posts: 1263
Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 717 times
Been thanked: 221 times

Displaying stop position

Postby arjfca » 15 Feb 2011

Hello

I'm using a trailing stop that is moved under specific conditions only. Is it possible to have an arrow be placed to show the stop position over the graph in an active trading window?

Martin

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6523
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 957 times
Been thanked: 1883 times

Re: Displaying stop position

Postby TJ » 15 Feb 2011

arjfca wrote:Hello

I'm using a trailing stop that is moved under specific conditions only. Is it possible to have an arrow be placed to show the stop position over the graph in an active trading window?

Martin

It is not a built-in thing...so you have to code it.
Look up ARW_NEW and ARW_SETLOCATION.


ps. it is a good idea for new feature.

arjfca
Posts: 1263
Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 717 times
Been thanked: 221 times

Re: Displaying stop position

Postby arjfca » 15 Feb 2011

TJ,

I owe you few beers now. :)

Many thanks.
- I will look to code it. If concluant, I will post the code

- I will post the idea over MC for a future improvement

Martin

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6523
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 957 times
Been thanked: 1883 times

Re: Displaying stop position

Postby TJ » 15 Feb 2011

arjfca wrote:TJ,

I owe you few beers now. :)

...Martin

all I need is a smoked meat sandwich to go with it. ;-)>

arjfca
Posts: 1263
Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 717 times
Been thanked: 221 times

Re: Displaying stop position

Postby arjfca » 15 Feb 2011

If you live in Canada, I could manage to do that

https://secure1.securewebexchange.com/d ... order.html.
They don't ship outside Canada :)

Back to my interrogation, Is it possible to display, instead of an arrow, a special characters that will represent an arrow pointing on the side. A up or down arrow will not display the exact position.

I don't see any text or characters command like Alt 26 (→) or Alt 16 for (►). When using this alt combination, i get back Chinese characters.

Martin

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6523
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 957 times
Been thanked: 1883 times

Re: Displaying stop position

Postby TJ » 15 Feb 2011

178.94
arjfca wrote:...
Back to my interrogation, Is it possible to display, instead of an arrow, a special characters that will represent an arrow pointing on the side. A up or down arrow will not display the exact position.

I don't see any text or characters command like Alt 26 (→) or Alt 16 for (►). When using this alt combination, i get back Chinese characters.

Martin

you can plagiarize this code for your purpose:
http://www.traderslaboratory.com/forums ... -6084.html


Return to “MultiCharts”