Your MultiCharts will now use up to 3G of virtual memory

Read before posting.
enalmada
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Aug 2010
Been thanked: 10 times

Your MultiCharts will now use up to 3G of virtual memory

Postby enalmada » 02 Aug 2010

Despite having 6g of RAM I have had constant trouble in my portfolio backtester and multicharts running out of memory at around 1.8G. This post gave me the idea to solve the problem with LARGEADDRESSAWARE flag. I didn't have visual studio so I found an alternate solution. I hope this post helps others solve their memory problem until multicharts is compiled 64bit. (It would be awesome if multicharts came with LARGEADDRESSAWARE set by default until then...i dont think there is any downside to it)

I was able to set the flag quickly and easily with a free tool called masm32:

- If you are 32bit then set 3G switch as per these instructions (http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=212853) otherwise read on...
- Go to http://www.masm32.com/masmdl.htm
- Download from the link at the top
- Unzip and install it in a directory. Lets say C:\masm32
- Go to your multicharts directory C:\Program Files (x86)\TS Support\MultiCharts and copy multicharts.exe and MCPortfolio.exe to a backup location and also into C:\masm32\bin
- Open a command prompt and go to the masm32\bin folder
- Type this C:\masm32\bin\editbin /LARGEADDRESSAWARE multicharts.exe
- Type this C:\masm32\bin\editbin /LARGEADDRESSAWARE MCPortfolio.exe
- In your explorer window, move the Multicharts.exe and MCPortfolio.exe back into multicharts directory.

Your multicharts will now use up to 3G and I have not seen an out of memory error since.

See this post for full information of the instructions systems...
http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=212853

tradersheldon
Posts: 22
Joined: 29 Jul 2010
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Out of Memory

Postby tradersheldon » 02 Aug 2011

enalmada wrote:Despite having 6g of RAM I have had constant trouble in my portfolio backtester and multicharts running out of memory at around 1.8G. This post gave me the idea to solve the problem with LARGEADDRESSAWARE flag. I didn't have visual studio so I found an alternate solution. I hope this post helps others solve their memory problem until multicharts is compiled 64bit. (It would be awesome if multicharts came with LARGEADDRESSAWARE set by default until then...i dont think there is any downside to it)

I was able to set the flag quickly and easily with a free tool called masm32:

- If you are 32bit then set 3G switch as per these instructions (http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=212853) otherwise read on...
- Go to http://www.masm32.com/masmdl.htm
- Download from the link at the top
- Unzip and install it in a directory. Lets say C:\masm32
- Go to your multicharts directory C:\Program Files (x86)\TS Support\MultiCharts and copy multicharts.exe and MCPortfolio.exe to a backup location and also into C:\masm32\bin
- Open a command prompt and go to the masm32\bin folder
- Type this C:\masm32\bin\editbin /LARGEADDRESSAWARE multicharts.exe
- Type this C:\masm32\bin\editbin /LARGEADDRESSAWARE MCPortfolio.exe
- In your explorer window, move the Multicharts.exe and MCPortfolio.exe back into multicharts directory.

Your multicharts will now use up to 3G and I have not seen an out of memory error since.

See this post for full information of the instructions systems...
http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=212853


This works awesome. Doubled the amount of data multicharts.exe can load to do backtesting.
Multicharts will now lock up at 3.6 gb of memory (On windows task manager) instead of 1.8 gb.
You have to have 64 bit version of Windows to make this work. Thanks so much for your post,

User avatar
Stan Bokov
Posts: 963
Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Has thanked: 367 times
Been thanked: 300 times

Re: Your MultiCharts will now use up to 3G of virtual memory

Postby Stan Bokov » 03 Aug 2011

Enalmada - thank you for your post. I found it very interesting, so I reposted it here - http://www.bigmiketrading.com/multichar ... emory.html

Hope you don't mind.

jl12
Posts: 197
Joined: 29 Jun 2007
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 8 times
Contact:

Re: Your MultiCharts will now use up to 3G of virtual memory

Postby jl12 » 04 Aug 2011

I've just tried to install it but I get an error message.

"The ordinal 203 could not be located in the dynamic link library winspool.drv "

tekram
Posts: 96
Joined: 26 May 2009
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Your MultiCharts will now use up to 3G of virtual memory

Postby tekram » 04 Aug 2011

jl12 wrote:I've just tried to install it but I get an error message.
"The ordinal 203 could not be located in the dynamic link library winspool.drv "

You should read this post in this forum from 2009 and follow the advice:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6781&p=29504&hilit=LARGEADDRESSAWARE#p29504

"(DO THIS ONLY IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND NEED LARGEADDRESSAWARE)... If you don't have Visual Studio installed, try a standalone utility called laatidosetup.exe. " There are additional registry and bootini changes for Win32 OS.

This is what MS recommends:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/isv/bb190527
Will I need special hardware for memory top-down testing?
Loading large data sets is not necessary when testing and debugging applications and the memory that is used. In fact, no special hardware is needed for conducting top-down memory allocation testing. To force allocations in top-down order, set the registry entry HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management\AllocationPreference REG_DWORD to 0x100000. Along with the registry change, all 64-bit applications should be tested with the /PAE and /NOLOWMEM switches and x86 applications should be tested with the /PAE, /NOLOWMEM, and /3GB switches.

MC7 seems to be compiled with VisualC++8 and TSSupport developer would have released it as LARGEADDRESSAWARE if it had been tested extensively as LARGEADDRESSAWARE because it is a simple compiler flag to enable it. The reason it wasn't released as such is probably because it wasn't tested extensively and there are some pointer truncation issues with MS Winapi that is not compatible with LARGEADDRESSAWARE, not to mention compatibility of third party APIs.

A better alternative to all of these utilities (MASM32, laatidosetup.exe) is NTcore explorer suite (freeware http://ntcore.com/exsuite.php ). After installation , run CFF Explorer.exe, open the target exe file, click file header, characteristic and 'click here' and look under 'app can handle >2gb address' for check mark. Again, do this at your own risk and only if you really need >2gb address.

Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

momentum
Posts: 315
Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Your MultiCharts will now use up to 3G of virtual memory

Postby momentum » 04 Aug 2011

"look for check mark"? Should it be checked or not to have access to more RAM? Thanks.

tekram
Posts: 96
Joined: 26 May 2009
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Your MultiCharts will now use up to 3G of virtual memory

Postby tekram » 05 Aug 2011

momentum wrote:"look for check mark"? Should it be checked or not to have access to more RAM? Thanks.
Please place check mark and save to target exe file to activate >2gb address. Please reboot if you had changed boot.ini and probably after changing the registry as well.

ariliveitup
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Jun 2010

Re: Your MultiCharts will now use up to 3G of virtual memory

Postby ariliveitup » 06 Aug 2011

When i try to install MASM32, I get the following error as attached.

I uninstalled my antivirus software just to get this feature of multicharts working, I have spent 100+ hours in the last 6 months trying to make Portfolio Level testing work with Multicharts but always get the memory exception

This seems like an interesting fix, but cant get MASM 32 to install
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Emmanuel
Posts: 287
Joined: 21 May 2009
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Your MultiCharts will now use up to 3G of virtual memory

Postby Emmanuel » 19 Aug 2011

Big thank you enalmada !

I try it , it work well, I was able to use more memory for my DLL.

This is a great help

Thank you very much,

Have a very nice day !!!

Emmanuel


Return to “MultiCharts FAQ”