Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
scuba
Posts: 35
Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google

Postby scuba » 16 May 2017

Hello All

For some reason I can no longer download ^VIX using QuoteManager using FreeQuotes as a source. I've been using this for years and it suddenly stopped. I am aware of some changes that Yahoo made and am using the new MC version:

MultiCharts64 Version 10.0 Release (Build 14245)


Wen I go to import another Ticker in MC window and enter F:^VIX or just ^VIX both Google and Yahoo get timed out. I can enter SNAP and it works perfectly.

I have ^VIX in QuoteManager already, should I delete this and start over???

Any help would be appreciated.

Sucba

bowlesj3
Posts: 2028
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 174 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google

Postby bowlesj3 » 17 May 2017

I am also having a problem with Yahoo free quotes but not exactly the same. None of the symbols will get data after 2017/May/12. This includes both the TSE symbols such as BCE.TO and the U.S. symbols as shown below with COKE. It also includes the indexes ^GSPTSE and ^GSPC.

https://ca.finance.yahoo.com/quote/COKE/history?ltr=1

Something strange happened yesterday with Yahoo. During the day on the 16th I looked at one of the symbols (https://ca.finance.yahoo.com/quote/BCE.TO/history?ltr=1) and it was not showing the 15th but rather the 16th (the same day I was looking at it). The price data was correct but the date was wrong (I checked it against big charts). Today it is correct showing the 15th and the 16th (you will see the correction in the above COKE symbol). So I am wondering if this tripped up MC and now MC can not bring in the latest data even if I do the reload.

I am running 10.0 release build 14186 and I did install the patch that was created a few weeks ago. Everything was working fine until this week.

User avatar
Angelina MultiСharts
Posts: 260
Joined: 28 Dec 2016
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google

Postby Angelina MultiСharts » 17 May 2017

Dear users,

It seems to be an issue with Yahoo data servers. Yahoo page states that they are already working on resolving this.
Here is a sample request to track the progress: https://table.finance.yahoo.com/table.c ... 17&g=daily
Please switch the server from Yahoo to Google in Free Quotes data feed settings (QuoteManager->Tools->Data sources) until the issue is fixed.

bowlesj3
Posts: 2028
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 174 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google

Postby bowlesj3 » 18 May 2017

Angelina MultiСharts wrote:Please switch the server from Yahoo to Google in Free Quotes data feed settings (QuoteManager->Tools->Data sources) until the issue is fixed.


I switched from Yahoo to Google as the attach picture shows (I used the up button to move Google to the top). I closed everything down and reopened it. I then did a ctrl+r to reload and I still only get data from the 12th of May. When that did not work I unchecked Yahoo. I again closed MC down and restarted it. I did this with a copy of one of the workspaces. ctrl+r still does not bring in the latest data.

When the above did not work I was wondering if Google free quotes uses different symbols.
Here is one of the Yahoo symbols.
https://ca.finance.yahoo.com/q/hp?s=BCE.TO
I did a google search and found this page for the same stock in Google.
https://www.google.ca/finance?q=TSE%3AB ... SsjAHfjoxY
Notice how the symbol is "TSE:BCE" rather than the "BCE.TO" which Yahoo uses.
So I tried adding this new symbol to the quote manager and I then changed the symbol on the MC chart (see attached image).
The result was I get no data.
I double checked this Google symbol by going for the historical data at this page.
https://www.google.ca/finance/historica ... jAGD_LTICg
So it seems that Google does use a different symbol for its historical data (not surprising since BigCharts uses yet another symbol).
I am wondering what I missed here????
Attachments
GoogleSymbol_TSE_BCE.png
GoogleSymbol_TSE_BCE.png (32.86 KiB) Viewed 765 times
FreeQuotes_Server.png
FreeQuotes_Server.png (14.93 KiB) Viewed 775 times

User avatar
Angelina MultiСharts
Posts: 260
Joined: 28 Dec 2016
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google

Postby Angelina MultiСharts » 18 May 2017

bowlesj3,

With FreeQuotes you can get data only for the symbols that on Historical Prices webpage have option "Download to Spreadsheet".
These users thanked the author Angelina MultiСharts for the post:
bowlesj3

bowlesj3
Posts: 2028
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 174 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google

Postby bowlesj3 » 18 May 2017

Thanks Angelina. Correct screen but it seems that all stocks from the TSE are not available. It would be a lot of work to switch symbols (better to wait for Yahoo to fix it).

scuba
Posts: 35
Joined: 29 Aug 2012
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google

Postby scuba » 18 May 2017

So,

I have looked more closely at Yahoo and think their issue has something to do with the ^VIX symbol not having adjusted close value as the other stocks/ETFs do. I can't speak to the TSE issues another poster mentioned but the issue I have is with the "VIX....

Does anyone have a good recommendation for a paid End of Day data source??

HELP

bowlesj3
Posts: 2028
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 174 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google

Postby bowlesj3 » 19 May 2017

scuba wrote:I have looked more closely at Yahoo and think their issue has something to do with the ^VIX symbol not having adjusted close value as the other stocks/ETFs do. I can't speak to the TSE issues another poster mentioned but the issue I have is with the "VIX....


The Yahoo notice is still up indicating they are having problems.
The issue seems to be with select exchanges where MC is not getting data while the prices show in Yahoo for all.
These are the ones I know of having trouble.
1/ TSE: I have a few workspaces for TSE symbols and the last data is from the 12th on all of them. This includes BCE.TO and ENB.TO
2/ NYSE: The NYSE symbols of BCE and ENB are not getting data after the 12th either.
3/ SNP (whatever that is): ^GSPC symbol (S&P500 index)
4/ Chicago Options: I just checked the ^VIX symbol on yahoo. That is how I found the exchange.

I am getting COKE okay (MC displays the daily bars for the 15th,16th,17th and 18th). According to Yahoo it is from the NasdaqGS exchange. All the other Nasdaq exchange stocks seem okay on MC.

bowlesj3
Posts: 2028
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 174 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google

Postby bowlesj3 » 23 May 2017

Still no fix from Yahoo on this. This may be of interest to some that use this.

I am lucky in that my system is not fully automated and I can get around it with BigCharts. I can even get BigChart right down to 5 minute or 1 minute delayed. This is more than enough for my current needs. See links below. The only problem is I can not mark the charts with clone lines, etc (nowhere near as good as MultiCharts). I checked ^VIX. Unfortunately they do not have options. Just stocks, indexes, funds and currencies.

BCE TSE Weekly all data
http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com/advcha ... e&state=11

BCE TSE Daily 2 years
http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com/advcha ... e&state=11

BCE TSE 5 minute 5 days
http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com/advcha ... e&state=11

bowlesj3
Posts: 2028
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 174 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google

Postby bowlesj3 » 27 May 2017

# 1/
The following link that Angelina provided now gives an error.
https://table.finance.yahoo.com/table.c ... 17&g=daily

#2/
All the problem symbols can be downloaded in Yahoo to a spreadsheet. Here is an example (S&P 500 index)
https://ca.finance.yahoo.com/quote/%5EG ... tory?ltr=1
At the same time they are not picked up in MultiCharts.

Does #1 + #2 above mean that the Yahoo problem is fixed but MC is not matching the fix?
These users thanked the author bowlesj3 for the post (total 2):
Grigoriosnuno-online

User avatar
Angelina MultiСharts
Posts: 260
Joined: 28 Dec 2016
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google

Postby Angelina MultiСharts » 31 May 2017

bowlesj3,

Code: Select all

The following link that Angelina provided now gives an error.


When everything functions correctly, opening this link starts spreadsheet download. So an error message means that problem is not fixed.

We are trying to find a way around this. I'll post an update when there are any news.
These users thanked the author Angelina MultiСharts for the post:
bowlesj3

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8508
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2733 times

Re: Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google  [SOLVED]

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 01 Jun 2017

Dear users,

We have done multiple improvements in the platform to adopt to recent changes on Yahoo Finance side. Connection has been successfully restored in MultiCharts 10.0 Release 7 builds 14415/14417 and MultiCharts .NET 10.0 Release 7 builds 14419/14420 or higher versions. Please update your platform and enable Yahoo Finance in the Free Quotes data source settings (QuoteManager->Tools->Data sources) if it was disabled. Full platform restart and data reload are required to apply the changes.
These users thanked the author Henry MultiСharts for the post:
bowlesj3

bowlesj3
Posts: 2028
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 174 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Can't load ^VIX from Yahoo or Google

Postby bowlesj3 » 01 Jun 2017

I just installed "MultiCharts 10.0 Release 7 builds 14415" 32 bit. All the yahoo free quote data is coming through now for all my charts. Thanks.


Return to “MultiCharts”