Trade Bar problem - IB Accounts  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
syswizard
Posts: 154
Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Trade Bar problem - IB Accounts

Postby syswizard » 14 Nov 2018

I have two interactive broker accounts and profiles.
I am using IB Gateway (not TWS).
I am using IQ Feed as the data source.
No symbols appear in the drop-down in the Trade Bar for either account.
I am unable to do an "Add Symbols"...
I get these messages: "No Symbols Available", "No Matches Were Found"
I have realtime @ES#C and @NQ#C charting perfectly.
What's wrong here ?

syswizard
Posts: 154
Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Trade Bar problem - IB Accounts

Postby syswizard » 14 Nov 2018

To the right of the Ask/Bid control, I see a dropdown with a value of DU1246665.
So it appears MC is connecting to the IB Gateway for my test account.
I guess to get it to connect to my live account I need to instantiate another instance of IB Gateway, right ?

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9112
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1258 times
Been thanked: 2927 times

Re: Trade Bar problem - IB Accounts  [SOLVED]

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 15 Nov 2018

Hello syswizard,

You need to configure IB data feed to be able to use the symbol lookup for it.
Please follow the IB Data feed connection guide:
http://www.multicharts.com/trading-soft ... ve_Brokers
Video tutorial:
https://www.multicharts.com/tutorials/

syswizard
Posts: 154
Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Trade Bar problem - IB Accounts

Postby syswizard » 15 Nov 2018

Yep, thanks for that. What I've discovered is IB Data may have a different exchange name and that IB Data may not have all of the IQFeed symbols.


Return to “MultiCharts”