How to make a running record of signals?  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Guest

May 22 2007

How to make a running record of signals?

for example, I want to know when the stochastic hits 80 or 20.

is it possible for MC to output this information to a txt file (or a window) every time this condition is met ?

I want this information in a running record, so the next signal can append to the end of the file.

Your help is appreciated.

User avatar
Kate
Posts: 758
Joined: Dec 08 2006

May 23 2007

You will need to write an indicator (with Print) to do this.

User avatar
Januson
Posts: 119
Joined: Apr 18 2007
Location: Denmark

May 23 2007

Where does print output the information?

sparkz
Posts: 64
Joined: Mar 16 2007

May 24 2007

The print statement outputs to the output tab of PLEditor. If you can't see an output tab check it's enabled under the view menu. Very handy feature. :)

I'm not 100% sure on the full syntax of "Print" but it's something like:

Print(var, var, ...);

where "var" is a variable or string. Variables can have optinal formatting options appended to them. Example:

Print("Bar=", BarNumber:6:0, " Price=", MyPrice:7:4);

where 6 and 7 are the total width and 0 and 4 are the decimal places.

I believe you can also write files in PL but haven't actually tried that. Maybe it only works on TS? Someone?

User avatar
Januson
Posts: 119
Joined: Apr 18 2007
Location: Denmark

May 24 2007

Okay I see... Nice, I was aware of an output from PL, but didn't know that MultiCharts while running was capable of printing to that output window.

Guest

May 24 2007

many thanks for the information.

I will give it a try tomorrow.

Guest

May 24 2007

I have made the following code:

Code: Select all

if h > h[1] then print( h, ">", h[1] );
if l < l[1] then print( l, "<" , l[1] );
I am running this on a 1min chart.

now, where can I find the output log ?

can I have it continuously displayed and updated on the screen ?


Many thanks for your help.

Guest

May 24 2007

I have made the following code:

Code: Select all

if h > h[1] then print( h, ">", h[1] );
if l < l[1] then print( l, "<" , l[1] );
I am running this on a 1min chart.

now, where can I find the output log ?

can I have it continuously displayed and updated on the screen ?


Many thanks for your help.
ok, I see it now. It is in the PLEditor... bottom window.

Guest

May 24 2007

May I suggest to TSSUPPORT to make the output window part of the wsp ?