Maximum Number of Bars that can be Loaded

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Guest

Maximum Number of Bars that can be Loaded

Postby Guest » 23 Jul 2007

Is there a limit to the number of bars that can be loaded?

Here is the situation :

Strategy that gets signal from Data2 which is a 7 minute bar. Entry comes from Data1 which is a 1 minute bar to simulate intrabar on the 7 min.

Feeding chart with TS Forex data. Data is back to 10/21/2002.

When I try to load MC from today back through 11/1/2002 the 1 min data stops around 7/2004 showing just over 1Million 1 Min bars. The 7 Min data goes all the way back to 11/1/2002.

I can slide the 'window' for the data all around, for instance if I move the end date back by a year to 7/23/2006 (with start date still 11/1/2002) then the 1 Min bars go back to around 8/1/2003. Interestingly still just over 1 Million 1 minute bars.

Any thoughts, thanks.

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 27 Jul 2007

There is no such limitation. I loaded 3.5 million bars. What is your RAM size? Did you monitor available memory in Task Manager?

Guest

Postby Guest » 27 Jul 2007

Thanks Andrew for checking.

The system the PC is a C2D running at 3GHz with 4 GB of ram though running 32 bit XP-Pro so not all the ram is available.

Maybe a little more detail might help.

This occured after an optimization. The optimization period was 11/1/2003 - 6/30/2006. The trouble happened after the optimization had finished and I then went to open up the date ranges to see the In Sample and Out of Sample results.

I just tried to load it again. This time one data stream (1 Min GBPUSD 11/1/2002 - 7/27/2007) Still can only load just over 1 Million bars. With this request the chart data begins 7/24/2004. If I change the request to 7/27/2006 the chart data goes back to 8/18/2003.

I just repeated with EURUSD and have similar results - chart data begins on 7/7/2004 with and end date of today.

Also, just tried with @ES. Similar results. As I watched the quote count increment as soon as it crossed the 1 milion mark it stopped loading and brought chart onto screen.

hmmm

pic of task manager is attached. don't think it a memory issue.
Attachments
TaskMan.png
TaskMan.png (6.57 KiB) Viewed 457 times

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 30 Jul 2007

It turns out that there is a limitation which restricts downloading over 1 million bars. To overcome this limitation you need to go to registry, make a search and and change the key MaxBarCount = 1000000 to MaxBarCount = 10000000 (i.d. change 1 million to 10 million bars).

Guest

Postby Guest » 30 Jul 2007

thats great news, thank you Marina.

Guest

Postby Guest » 30 Jul 2007

works, thanks again

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

MaxMinuteIntervalInDays and MaxTickIntervalInDays?

Postby 2haerim » 03 Oct 2007

Would you explain what are these two registry value mean?

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Re: MaxMinuteIntervalInDays and MaxTickIntervalInDays?

Postby Marina Pashkova » 03 Oct 2007

Would you explain what are these two registry value mean?


MaxMinuteIntervalInDays and MaxTickIntervalInDays are of no relevance for MultiCharts.

They are used in MCFX: since the data is continually requested and received these keys help to divide this continuous request into a number of smaller ones.

wall richard
Posts: 60
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby wall richard » 03 Jan 2008

It turns out that there is a limitation which restricts downloading over 1 million bars. To overcome this limitation you need to go to registry, make a search and and change the key MaxBarCount = 1000000 to MaxBarCount = 10000000 (i.d. change 1 million to 10 million bars).

wall richard
Posts: 60
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby wall richard » 03 Jan 2008

Where is the registry to change MaxBarCount located?
Thanks,
stork

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 09 Jan 2008

Hello Stork,

To call up the Registry Editor, go to Start -> Run and type in 'regedit'.
In the editor window that will be brought up, go to HKEY_Current_ User\Software\TS Support\MultiCharts\Shaper - MaxBarCount. Double-click MaxBarCount and type in the required value.

Regards.


Return to “MultiCharts”