chart price scale

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
fundjunkie
Posts: 58
Joined: 25 Sep 2005
Location: UK

chart price scale

Postby fundjunkie » 26 Feb 2006

Hi,
How do I make charts display Y-Axis prices to 3 decimal places and increment prices in 0.025 (or .500) steps?


Thx,
D

User avatar
Alex Kramer
Posts: 834
Joined: 23 Feb 2006

Postby Alex Kramer » 27 Feb 2006

To set Y-axis increments please go to Format Symbol, Scaling tab, mark Manual Label Size checkbox. Click Step Size radiobutton and enter the desired value (see Increments.jpg screenshot)

To set the number of decimal places, in Quote Manager go to Edit Symbol, Settings tab and select Use Custom Settings. In the Price scale drop-down menu select the desired value, i.e. 1/1000 will give you three decimal places.
Attachments
increments.jpg
increments.jpg (43.68 KiB) Viewed 447 times

templ
Posts: 86
Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby templ » 11 Dec 2006

Hello,

I have problems with the step size of the euribor future from liffe, stepsize 0.005.
What can i do?

My Bid priceline and Ask priceline are one the same price!

It also did not help to do in Format Window the Y-Pice Scale the Settings to a higher manual chars number etc.!
Attachments
stepSize.JPG
stepSize.JPG (102.42 KiB) Viewed 452 times

User avatar
Stanley Miller
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 3 times

Postby Stanley Miller » 11 Dec 2006

To set the number of decimal places, go to Edit Symbol in Quote Manager, then Settings tab and select Use Custom Settings. In the Price scale drop-down menu select the desired value, i.e. 1/1000 will give you three decimal places.

templ
Posts: 86
Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby templ » 11 Dec 2006

To set the number of decimal places, go to Edit Symbol in Quote Manager, then Settings tab and select Use Custom Settings. In the Price scale drop-down menu select the desired value, i.e. 1/1000 will give you three decimal places.

OK.
Is there an option to do it with all Euribor contracts in one step, because if not I have to do it 25 times for each Euribor contract separately?

User avatar
Stanley Miller
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 3 times

Postby Stanley Miller » 11 Dec 2006

Is there an option to do it with all Euribor contracts in one step, because if not I have to do it 25 times for each Euribor contract separately?


You can change Exchange/ECN settings and this will be applied to all symbols.

... I have also to set the step size in the chart at Format Symbol / Scaling / the Manual Label Style for every dataseries in a chart separately to step size 0.005?


You don't need to do it, MultiCharts will show the required number of symbols automatically.

templ
Posts: 86
Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby templ » 11 Dec 2006


You can change Exchange/ECN settings and this will be applied to all symbols.


But than all other symbols of liffe have also this settings. Would be nice, if this feature could circumscribe for a symbol. So customers could do Exchange/ECN settings only for a symbol. What do you think?

User avatar
Stanley Miller
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 3 times

Postby Stanley Miller » 11 Dec 2006

You can do it if select Use Custom Settings instead of Use Exchange Settings.

templ
Posts: 86
Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby templ » 11 Dec 2006

You can do it if select Use Custom Settings instead of Use Exchange Settings.

Yes, ok.
But the question "Is there an option to do it with all Euribor contracts in one step" is still open.

Please have a look at the screenshot (Exchange-ECN_settings.JPG)

How can add the Custom Settings in one step to the selected symbols of the exchange liffe?
Attachments
Exchange-ECN_settings.JPG
Exchange-ECN_settings.JPG (79.17 KiB) Viewed 449 times

User avatar
Kate
Posts: 758
Joined: 08 Dec 2006

Postby Kate » 12 Dec 2006

Templ,
To apply Custom settings to all the selected symbols you need to set up these settings in Tools->Exchanges&ECNs. In Exchanges&ECNs window select LIFFE, click Edit and set up the settings you want to apply to the required symbols. These Custom settings will be applied automatically to all the symbols from this exchange.

User avatar
Kate
Posts: 758
Joined: 08 Dec 2006

Postby Kate » 12 Dec 2006

Actually, the way to apply Custom settings I described above is the only one possible as MultiCharts doesn't have Multi Edit feature that allows you to change the settings of all the selected symbols.

templ
Posts: 86
Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby templ » 12 Dec 2006

Templ,
These Custom settings will be applied automatically to all the symbols from this exchange.
:wink: I want it only for the over 25 euribor Futures not for all symbols. But with your last post it is clear, thanks.

I made second LIFFE Exchanges&ECNs Custom setting. But now I get this errors with:
No security definition has been found for the request:Invalid destination exchange specified

And I get no new data! In the screenshot you can see the new liffe filter (QuoteManager). In the Chart the symbols have as datasource the new LIFF-I.

Code: Select all

[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Connecting to real-time data for IH7: TransID= 1
[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Disconnecting from real-time data for IM7: TransID= 6
[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Connecting to real-time data for IM7: TransID= 6
[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Disconnecting from real-time data for IU7: TransID= 11
[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Connecting to real-time data for IU7: TransID= 11
[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Disconnecting from real-time data for IZ7: TransID= 16
[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Connecting to real-time data for IZ7: TransID= 16
[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Disconnecting from real-time data for IH8: TransID= 21
[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Connecting to real-time data for IH8: TransID= 21
[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Disconnecting from real-time data for IM8: TransID= 26
[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Connecting to real-time data for IM8: TransID= 26
[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Disconnecting from real-time data for IU8: TransID= 31
[12/12/2006 17:32:38] Connecting to real-time data for IU8: TransID= 31
[12/12/2006 17:32:39] TWS message: id= 1; errorCode= 200; errorMsg= No security definition has been found for the request:Invalid destination exchange specified
[12/12/2006 17:32:39] TWS message: id= 6; errorCode= 200; errorMsg= No security definition has been found for the request:Invalid destination exchange specified
[12/12/2006 17:32:39] TWS message: id= 11; errorCode= 200; errorMsg= No security definition has been found for the request:Invalid destination exchange specified
[12/12/2006 17:32:39] TWS message: id= 16; errorCode= 200; errorMsg= No security definition has been found for the request:Invalid destination exchange specified
[12/12/2006 17:32:39] TWS message: id= 21; errorCode= 200; errorMsg= No security definition has been found for the request:Invalid destination exchange specified
[12/12/2006 17:32:39] TWS message: id= 26; errorCode= 200; errorMsg= No security definition has been found for the request:Invalid destination exchange specified
[12/12/2006 17:32:39] TWS message: id= 31; errorCode= 200; errorMsg= No security definition has been found for the request:Invalid destination exchange specified
[12/12/2006 17:32:39] Data request for IH7 1 Day Ask [12/08/2006 16:32:39 - 12/12/2006 16:32:39] (Id= 4)
Attachments
liffe_custom.JPG
liffe_custom.JPG (190.47 KiB) Viewed 435 times

User avatar
Kate
Posts: 758
Joined: 08 Dec 2006

Postby Kate » 12 Dec 2006

Judging from your logs, TWS doesn't recognize such exchange name (LIFF-1). Could you please open TWS and make a screenshot of this symbol and exchange?

templ
Posts: 86
Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby templ » 12 Dec 2006

Judging from your logs, TWS doesn't recognize such exchange name (LIFF-1). Could you please open TWS and make a screenshot of this symbol and exchange?


Why a screenshot of TWS?

What should I use as my second LIFFE Exchanges&ECNs Custom setting name?

MC say: use a unique exchange abbrevation!
Attachments
custom_exchange2.JPG
custom_exchange2.JPG (80.7 KiB) Viewed 442 times
liffe_TWS.JPG
liffe_TWS.JPG (135.22 KiB) Viewed 438 times

User avatar
Kate
Posts: 758
Joined: 08 Dec 2006

Postby Kate » 13 Dec 2006

You should customize the settings of the existing LIFFE that can be recognized by TWS. You should either use LIFFE the regular settings or change them without creating another exchange (LIFF-1).


Return to “MultiCharts”