IB Gateway "Connection to Interactive Brokers as been lost"

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
arjfca
Posts: 1270
Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 720 times
Been thanked: 222 times

IB Gateway "Connection to Interactive Brokers as been lost"

Postby arjfca » 10 Feb 2011

Hello

I'm testing IB Gateway and nearly every nigth ( New-York time) I'm experimenting a lost of connection with IB Gateway server

In my "Order and Position Traker" window, I got these messages

2011-02-10 00:22:57 The connection to InteractiveBrokers has been lost
2011-02-10 00:22:58 The Automated Order Execution mode as been turned off due to a settingchange


Anyone experimenting the same problem?
Is it just for paper trading? Same problem in live trading?
Any work arround for the problem?

I'm trying to get infor from them, but the service with email is not good at all.

User avatar
Lara
Posts: 14
Joined: 07 Feb 2011

Re: IB Gateway "Connection to Interactive Brokers as been l

Postby Lara » 10 Feb 2011

Which versions do you use for IB and for Multicharts?

arjfca
Posts: 1270
Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 720 times
Been thanked: 222 times

Re: IB Gateway "Connection to Interactive Brokers as been l

Postby arjfca » 10 Feb 2011

Hello Lara

MC: 6.1 release 3605

IB Gateway
Built 311.3 Non 2010
Jolt build 1.17 sept 9 2010
Nia Build 1.7.7 aug 6 2010
ModelNav Build 1.1.29 Oct. 5 2010

Java version 1.6.0_22
OS Windows 7 amd64,6.1

Hope is they informations that you asked for?

Martin

ventus
Posts: 45
Joined: 14 May 2010
Location: NYC
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: IB Gateway "Connection to Interactive Brokers as been l

Postby ventus » 10 Feb 2011

i've been running MC with gateway for some time now without any hiccups, both in live and paper trading. i do see that gateway loses connection almost every night at midnight but it immediately reconnects.

make sure your autotrading connection setting is set to "disable auto trading after 86400 seconds on the connection loss".

you may also want to check with your internet service provider to see if they're doing any resets on their side.

arjfca
Posts: 1270
Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 720 times
Been thanked: 222 times

Re: IB Gateway "Connection to Interactive Brokers as been l

Postby arjfca » 10 Feb 2011

Hello Ventus

Thanks for your input

make sure your autotrading connection setting is set to "disable auto trading after 86400 seconds on the connection loss".



- Where do I foud this option?
- From what time zone are you working?

I found that I may have may use the IB Asian server. The reset time is arround 5pm Montreal time. I have asked them to switch me to it. I still don't know if it will induce big lattency

Also, I found an application from TradeBullet.com. If i understand, they are an interface between you and IB. Their system should resolve the broken connection problem.

Big question: But why isn't Multicharts that deal with that. :)

Martin

Martin

sptrader
Posts: 629
Joined: 09 Apr 2010
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 394 times
Been thanked: 233 times
Contact:

Re: IB Gateway "Connection to Interactive Brokers as been l

Postby sptrader » 10 Feb 2011

"make sure your autotrading connection setting is set to "disable auto trading after 86400 seconds on the connection loss".
****************************************************************************
This option is found by going to - format signals, properties, autotrading, select broker plugin, settings, connection settings.

arjfca
Posts: 1270
Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 720 times
Been thanked: 222 times

Re: IB Gateway "Connection to Interactive Brokers as been l

Postby arjfca » 10 Feb 2011

OK thanks

I will try it tonigth. Hope it resolve the problem

Martin

User avatar
siscop
Posts: 188
Joined: 09 Jan 2011
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: IB Gateway "Connection to Interactive Brokers as been l

Postby siscop » 03 Mar 2011

hey Martin,
does it work with you now? I have the same problem
see viewtopic.php?f=1&t=8288
the timeout of 86400 did not help.
It would be nice if you could share the solution if you have solved that problem.

arjfca
Posts: 1270
Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 720 times
Been thanked: 222 times

Re: IB Gateway "Connection to Interactive Brokers as been l

Postby arjfca » 03 Mar 2011

Yes System is one 24/24 without interuption from IB

I use IB Gateway
In the Signal property i have set the delay before time out to 600 secondes

Have you set the port to 4001 for
- Quote Manager
- Signal property under the Autoexec tab
- Ib Gateway port configuration

What is not working exactly?
Have you tried to chat with MC?

Good luck
Martin

User avatar
siscop
Posts: 188
Joined: 09 Jan 2011
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: IB Gateway "Connection to Interactive Brokers as been l

Postby siscop » 03 Mar 2011

The strategy deactivates at 6:08 in the morning german time (GMT+1) with the same error msg you had.
I have placed the timeout to 86400 and it didnt help.
Trading with Gateway and QM and autotrading is placed on port 4001
Attachments
schliessung.PNG
schliessung.PNG (55.31 KiB) Viewed 429 times
zeit.PNG
zeit.PNG (25 KiB) Viewed 428 times

arjfca
Posts: 1270
Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Has thanked: 720 times
Been thanked: 222 times

Re: IB Gateway "Connection to Interactive Brokers as been l

Postby arjfca » 03 Mar 2011

Hello Siscop

Wish I can help you more, but I can't find a solution

Best bet is to chat with MC to see if there is something they can do.

- Try to set de delay to 600 sec. instead of the huge delay that you are using.
- Do you have the latest version of MC and IB TWS

Out of these, IM out of idea. If I got a flash, I will PM you

Good luck again.
Martin


Return to “MultiCharts”